We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good For What it is!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Platte Valley Inn

Platte Valley Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Platte Valley Inn to your Saves list
Platte Valley Inn
15225 Highway 385, Julesburg, CO 80737   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Julesburg
Bel Air, Md
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Good For What it is!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We were planning to be in this area for a special event and stayed here for one night. Keeping in mind that this is a very old facility in a very small town, this hotel was just fine for a short stay.
It was very clean and had only the very basics..generally comfy bed/pillows, hot water, bars of soap/towels, small table/chairs and a TV. There was no fridge or hairdryer in the room and no shampoo/lotion etc. The front desk staff was very kind. There is NO restaurant on the premises anymore. If you need to print a boarding pass, go down to Cedar St and go the the library (a very short distance; it opens at 9); very nice staff there too. There is a gas station that has a small cafe and a Subway sandwich shop w/i walking distance. There is 1 restaurant in town, but it closes at 3p. Again, we're talking basics for about 65.00/nt. If you are passing through, this will do the trick.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
4
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We were driving west on I80 from Des Moines, having sped through Nebraska on a clear cold day. When we hit the Colorado border, a snow storm closed in, blanketing the area with snow, couldn't see the road and dropping visibility to 25 feet. We had no choice but to get off the highway at Julesburg, CO. This hotel was right off the exit ramp, calling out as a safe haven against the storm. Okay, so less dramatic tension and more facts. The beds were comfortable, the heater and cable tv worked, super-hot water, the room was clean, no bad smells and at a reasonable price. We had no choice but to stop and stay the night. Why be negative when this hotel kept us from dying in our vehicle in a ditch? And they had sausage and gravy biscuits at the continental breakfast to boot!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland,Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Checked in close to 10:00 went to Gas Station for food since the restaurant was closed. Returned, walked into room and was greeted by furnishings probably provided by the local Goodwill Store. 17 inch very old TV. Room stunk and beds appeared to be sagging. Set camera down, picked camera back up and refused to stay there. The person running the place has charged my credit card for this 40 second visit. I am disputing the charge. There is a Motel 6 at the next exit. This place is not worth even stopping in front of.

Room Tip: You will be much happier at a real motel. This place reminds me of the Bates Motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Nothing fancy, but better than the Motel 6 at Big Springs NE. The room was clean and the bathroom was clean. The bed was comfortable and smelled okay. The service I received was excellent. This is just a room and shower type hotel and not a vacation spot. It is inthe the middle of no where. Restaurant was closed so eat before you get there or eat at the cafe across the street. The hotel was perfect and reasonable for me. Hope this helps you decide. If you are tired stop you will not regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The food served was of average quality. One of the dishes served had to be returned because it was overcooked. The restaurant did however acknowledge the issue and extended a discount. We will not be going back again and do not recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were traveling with pets. Our room sported indoor/outdoor carpet, and the bare essentials for an overnight stay - the bed was comfortable, and the room was clean, if outdated. The woman at the front desk was polite but not necessarily friendly; we didn't go to the "Lounge." I'd recommend the Platte Valley Inn if, like us, you're just passing through!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton Grove, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

This is not a destination hotel, but if you need a room in this area, we were very happy with it. This is a basic room, with bare minimum amenities, but it was clean with a good bed and a good shower. There is an a restrauant there which we found to be surprisingly good, and it had a pool table which provided the evenings entertainment. The breakfast there was also decent. The only other place to eat there is a Subway.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Platte Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platte Valley Inn

Address: 15225 Highway 385, Julesburg, CO 80737
Location: United States > Colorado > Julesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Julesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Platte Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platte Valley Hotel Julesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platte Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.