We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and misleading” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Hut

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sam's Hut to your Saves list
Sam's Hut
43 Main Street, Arugam Bay 32500, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Over priced and misleading”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The advertisement stated that Sams Hut was on the beach, it isn't. The room we had was not very clean, especially the bathroom.
Sam and his friends did everything they could to rip us off from trying to over charge us for our laundry to organising a tuk tuk who charged 3 times what the other tourists paid.
Sam doesn't seem to know how to make his customers happy and not interested in it either.
We paid way too much for this room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We couldn't believe how different our experience was to that of the other reviewers! This is the first time I have experienced such a discrepancy between the reviews and the actual experience.

Firstly when we arrived there was no soap, no towels and no sheets in our room, these were supplied when we asked for them. The restaurant was barely functioning, we had to wake up the staff in the morning to ask for breakfast and forget about any other meals - it was closed or just used as a hang out place for the staff. One of the rooms was being renovated and the beds and bedding etc were strewn about the garden. Directly outside our room was an open water drain - great breeding ground for mossies. The staff showers in the yard in the morning and it's covered with their clothes hanging on lines.

Sam (we met two Sams) barely looked up from the TV to grunt at us as we came and went. We paid $50 a night - and there are about twenty better places that are directly on the beach (not down an alleyway) that are cheaper and nicer. There are basic rooms and then there is Sam's Hut. I believe Sam should charge about $20 a night compared to what his competitors charge and are offering. Sam's Hut is the worse value in Arugam Bay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast, australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

i dont normally write reviews but this place was one of, if not the highlight of my trip in sri lanka.
the staff were friendly and very helpful. they even put the tv outside so we could watch some live sport with a cold beer after dark. i was only meant to stay a couple of days but ended up staying for over a week. the small courtyard is great for chilling out in the heat of the day and with only a few steps to the beach makes it a great location. with only a few rooms make sure you book ahead around may to august. the food here was great too. really nice local dishes as well as a few international ones. i would definately recommend sams hut to anyone who is planning on going to arugam bay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at Sam's hut for 5 nights and we felt so confortable that it was hard to leave ! The staff was very friendly and always ready to help. Our room was clean and confortable with its own little terrasse and private bathroom. The garden is increadibly green and it just a nice place to hang out after a day at the beach (which located 20meters from the hotel) ! We had some hard time finding a decent accomodation in Arugam Bay but we didn't regret our choice.

Room Tip: The cheapest are the bungalows in the back of the garden ; otherwise the 4 other rooms are bright an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We chose Sam's Hut after having inspected several other hotels in Arugam bay. The bungalow-style rooms all dispose over separate bathrooms and mosquito nets and are situated in a well kept garden only a few meters from the beach. The small restaurant serves simple but delicious local dishes at very reasonable prices. The young and energetic manager was very helpful and did everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The comparably low prices and the hositality make this place an excellent choice in arguam bay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for about five nights in April, and it was great. The owner was really friendly and made sure we felt comfortable. There aren’t very many rooms so it makes for a more intimate experience than some of the alternatives next door, like Beach Hut. It was pretty dead in the village when we went, so a lot of the shops were closed up, but we weren’t really there to catch big waves, and we kind of liked the quietness. I would recommend it especially for couples who aren’t necessarily looking for the party scene. The rooms next to the café are the nicest, with tiled floors, comfy beds, nice fans, and clean bathrooms. We were asked to move to another room which wasn’t as nice, but it was fine for the price we were getting. The guesthouse is just a few steps away from the water too. Nice place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottuvil, null, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We loved staying at Sam's Hut for eight days. Everyone was nice and always ready to help starting from jameem, the hotel manager, and also the other staff. The location is very convenient for everything surf included, quiet and comfortable and with a very good price and quality balance.
Rooms are simple but clean, but most important, everyone makes you feel at home.sea as swimming pool.
We would love to come back. rasmi and yenna,beru.

Stayed june 2012, traveled as a couple

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sam's Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Hut

Address: 43 Main Street, Arugam Bay 32500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Arugam Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Arugam Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we provide well equipped and comfortable with fire safety rooms.our freshen ventilation falls through the windows of our rooms so traveler rejuvenate them selves. our trained staff quite friendly serving respects with traveler.our restaurant serves authentic srilankan dishes,spicy indian and europian style foods.we also supply seafoods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sam's Hut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sam's Hut Sri Lanka/Arugam Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Hut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.