We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samanthi's Restaurant

Samanthi's Restaurant
Main Point Road | Arugam Bay, Arugam Bay, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 26 Restaurants in Arugam Bay
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

order in advance and enjoy, fresh food cooked by the ladies of a family who are all so helpful smiling and lovely.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious home cooked food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We chanced upon this restaurant one afternoon and had such a delicious meal, which we pre-ordered earlier, that we went back the next evening too, even though we were staying right the other end of the beach. The ladies who do the cooking are fantastic, and the Sri Lankan rice and curry was superb. Our kids enjoyed the chicken and chips, and the really cute tiny puppies were a big hit! We were also offered cold water, or really cold water that had been in the freezer so had some ice in it - it went down a treat. Order in advance for rice and curry - it's definitely worth it. All this at a very reasonable price. Would highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Sorry, The owner was nice but we waited for over than 45 min, and the dishes were poor, BBQ chicken had hardly any BBQ sauce, not cooked enough... Also had chips 'n' fish, we thought its going to be made in the traditional way (UK style) and it wasn't...

The true con were the reasonable prices

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Lovely, friendly,family run little restaurant with the BEST Sri Lankan curry we had,pineapple curry to die for,but remember to order 24 hours before!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delicious home cooking and a delightful family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent a week in Arugam Bay as part of our trip to Sri Lanka in September 2011. We found Samanthi's by chance and we're so glad we did! We went there for almost every meal and could feed both of us for about £5, but the food was some of the best we had in the country. The restaurant is run by 5 sisters who cook everything from scratch, and the food itself is great value and delicious. The place has a really relaxed vibe and is one of the closest restaurants to the Main Point, so if you're looking for a lunch break or a nice evening meal after a day's surfing this place is perfect. If you want rice and curry then order a few hours in advance, and bear in mind the fact that you can help yourself to any drinks from the fridge and they'll put them on your bill at the end! The staff are so friendly and really looked after us, we'll definitely be back!
The girls' brother, Krishantha, is a fully-trained surf instructor and runs a surf shop in the restaurant compound. There are also about 4 cabanas with fans and ensuite if you're looking for cheap and cheerful accommodation in a great spot. And don't miss their father's tea shop next door - the donuts are out of this world! Oh, and they have a kitten, what more could you ask for?

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samanthi's Restaurant also viewed

Pottuvil, Arugam Bay
Arugam Bay, Eastern Province
 
Arugam Bay, Eastern Province
Arugam Bay, Eastern Province
 

Been to Samanthi's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samanthi's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.