We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family feel, very informative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Gold Mine

Phoenix Gold Mine
Trail Creek Rd., P.O. Box 3236, Idaho Springs, CO 80452
303-567-0422
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Mines, Cultural
Attraction details
Valley Park
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family feel, very informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The mine is in a beautiful section of Colorado. It definitely has a family feel to it. The tour of the mine is very personal, yet informative. Lots of neat stories and old mining artifacts. Panning for gold was fun too. Joey, who gave us our panning instructions was a funny little guy. He is probably only 13 or so, but passionate about the experience. The workers work for tips, so bring a few extra bucks for them. Hand feeding the chipmunks at the end of the tour is fun too. The only warning is to use the restroom before you arrive. The restrooms are not pretty, and I'm sure with the heat of the summer, only can get worse. Other than that, a fun experience, worth the stop!!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    16
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morton, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It's a Gold Mine alright”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My family of 4 paid $60 for a half hour tour and panning for gold in a creek. To my big surprise, I did not see any one find anything. This is like flushing money down the toilet. Speaking of toilets, you would not believe the disgusting out house that they have. The owner is nice and so is his help, that does not make up for this sham.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Platte, Nebraska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“it was just OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

kinda scary and run down. and dirty, but at least we can say we visited a gold mine, but would never go back thats for sure.....

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Too Much Fun to Miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband & I tried to go up Mt Evans but didn't realize the road was still closed. But while we were going to Idaho Springs, we thought we'd check out a gold mine, since the gold rush started in that town. Although we initially drove by Argo Mines on the way into town, we held out for Phoenix Gold Mine which is just a little further away. We were glad we did. Roger was a great tour guide and, since the mine is still active and he's been mining since he was 18 yrs old, he was able to explain the process and history with real-life anecdotes and a lot of character. The mine itself has gone solar & all the lights underground are powered by solar panels above. After the tour, he took us to a small stream in front of the mine where he gave us a demonstration & then let us pan for gold ourselves for as long as we wanted. Apparently someone found a 2 oz piece of gold in that exact spot last year & sold it for $36,000! We didn't find anything, but had a TON of fun for a mere pittance. I heartily recommend stopping by!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Glad we stopped!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

As we were driving from a week in Brekenridge back to Denver we had a day kill and decided to take out time driving back. We stopped in Idaho Springs and happened upon the Phoenix Gold mine. We took a chance and had a great time touring the mine and learning about gold mining. It wasn't long or expensive which was a plus. Our 3 kids enjoyed it as well. Allen was thorough and informative. Thanks for a good time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix Gold Mine also viewed

 

Been to Phoenix Gold Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Gold Mine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.