We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality brew and decent fair, what more to ask?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tommyknocker Brewery & Pub

Tommyknocker Brewery & Pub
1401 Miner St, Idaho Springs, CO 80452
303-567-2688
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Quality brew and decent fair, what more to ask?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I shared a meal and a few drinks with my friends at this place, I liked it a lot. Local brew is something you must try, and that's a microbrewery setting, which is even better. The food was all right if not outstanding. Recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    90
    91
    18
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good brats and good beer.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Seven of us had lunch at Tommyknocker's while driving I-70. The food and beer were quite good. All seven enjoyed the lunch and wanted to stop again later in the week, but the travel plans didn't allow.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“always good consistent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

liked the brew the super nice server being able to watch brewmaster work,tables at the window, salsa could be improved needs to be worthyof the beerthere

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“No thank you”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

After a long day hiking up around Mt. Evans, we were ready for a good beer and a meal. The beer was just "ok" and a little overpriced given the fact at this was a brewery. I could have lived with just having a beer, but it was the food that was not good. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. When we asked for his suggestions on what was good--he replied that the soup and the fish tacos were great, as was the pulled pork. So, we took his suggestions. First of all, the soup was not even lukewarm, and had to be reheated, the pork sandwich came on a cold, kind of stale bun, but the fish tacos were probably the worst I've ever had. I come from the home of fish tacos (and we were in Colorado--miles away from the ocean), so I why did I even order this?. The greasy fish was laying on a hard flour taco with melted cheese, and that was it. Salsa was on the side. No cabbage, no white sauce, no corn tortilla, no cilantro or anything redeeming to put on it other than salsa. Loved the name of this restaurant but not the food. I have them 2 stars because the waiter was a nice guy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent quality meal in a very small town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Ended up at Tommyknocker purely because we were starved and the place looked interesting.

My friend & I shared an appetizer of deep fried mushrooms. The mushrooms where huge, which usually means they would be undercooked. Not so, plus they were served with home made ranch which was delish! I ordered their Artichoke and Tomato soup. OMG it was stunningly rich and tasty. Ended up only snacking on their fish tacos (main course)- which were made up of large portions of fish, chipotle sauce and their home made salsa. I was simply too full from the fried mushrooms and cup of soup.

Quite frankly Tommyknocker Brewery could compete in any large city and do quite well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommyknocker Brewery & Pub also viewed

 

Been to Tommyknocker Brewery & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommyknocker Brewery & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.