We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Argo Inn and Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idaho Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Argo Inn and Suites
Save
You added Argo Inn and Suites to your Saves list
2622 Colorado Blvd., Idaho Springs, CO 80452 (Formerly Heritage Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Cannock. Staffs
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here towards the end of our holiday, touring some of the States in the west.
We went to reception and asked to see some rooms, and it was no trouble for the clerk to give us the keys to three rooms, to see which we liked best. One was a large family 'apartment', which was very reasonably priced, but lacked a bit of privacy for four adults! Another one was a little dark, so we went back to reception and the clerk, who was very patient with us, said they had some rooms which backed on to the river, but were a little more expensive (around $85 inc. tax). When we saw the rooms, we were blown away. They had patio windows, which led to an open area which backed on to Clear Creek. There were lots of seats and tables dotted around the area, and two barbeques with tools for the guests to use. It was lovely sitting out there with a couple of drinks, relaxing after our heavy schedule of driving. In the room there was a queen bed, a writing desk, a couple of chairs, a large coffe table and a large screen tv, also a fridge and microwave and coffee making facilities. The shower room needed a little tlc, but was perfectly adequate. The best thing about the room was the gas fired 'log' fire across the corner, with a lovely large hearth, which was ideal for the first evening we stayed, as it had been a cool wet day, the only one in three weeks. It was really cosy in there, and I think it would be great in the fall and winter.
There was a lot of work being done to the roof of the hotel rooms, but it didn't impact on us at all. I don't know if they were doing other improvements too.
Breakfast was coffee, juice and a danish pastry, which was nice. If you want a more substantial meal, go a very short way down the road to a restaurant called 'Marians'. Superb food and reasonably priced. All in all, it was a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms that back on to the river are super, and worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    11
    7
    10
See reviews for
14
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

After reading other reviews I was sure we were going to a dump. But their sister property, Indian Hot Springs was running a special and they don't have pet friendly rooms so they directed me to Argo Inn and Suites.

So my boyfriend and I decided to try it out. Once we arrived I was pleasantly surprised. Tommy at the front desk was warm and welcoming. He directed us to the special packet they had waiting for us, telling us about all the restaurants, spa, and activities that were included and check in was a breeze.

We had a room that backed up to the stream. I loved it. The sound of the water flowing was very soothing. The rooms were fine. Nothing special but clean and what we needed for the night. There was a fire pit outside with a gas grill next to it. Nice touch. Breakfast was coffee, juice, and danishes. Exactly what I was expecting.

Overall I thought this was a great place for the price. Great location. Great staff.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Older place with clean rooms, decent rates and friendly staff. Was bought out about a year ago and is a good value. Central location and has discounts for the area restaurants and Hot springs. Wonderful place to relax and enjoy the area.My husband and I look forward to taking many trips to this lovely town and staying at the Argo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

The room was dirty with hair in the bathroom sink and tub. The sheets were from the previous occupant as we found a used condom in the bed. We packed our bags and left within an hour for Copper Mouintain better on up.

Room Tip: Dont bother staying at this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Nowadays known as Argo Inn & Suites

Pros:

-Nice and tidy room

-Good location, store nearby

Cons:

-There was a mouse on our room. When we told management about the problem, they just started to laugh of it. Compensation, hah hah dont even ask about it.

-Bed was way too soft

-Continental breakfast, dont make me laugh. Just coffey, juice and some crappy donuts

-Free WI-FI which didnt work at all

-Overpriced

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We spent the night on the 4th of July for a short get-away. The staff was very courteous and helpful and the hotel itself is very nice and clean. I especially liked the riverview room we stayed in. We got very little sleep because the mattress was very old and uncomfortable and the pillows leave much to be desired. We were very disappointed by the so-called continental breakfast that didn't begin until 7:00 a.m. and offered instant oatmeal, sweet rolls, coffee and juice with no spoons to eat the oatmeal. Overpriced for what we received.

Room Tip: Ask if mattress and pillows have been updated before you pay for the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Have stayed here 1 or 2 times per year for the past 5 years and highly recommend it. Get a room in the two story building on the second floor overlooking Clear Creek and enjoy the rushing water and in spring and summer the rafts that go by. Coffee and pastries and juice is provided in the am and the pool and hot tub are never crowded. This is the best place to stay in Idaho Springs.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Argo Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argo Inn and Suites

Address: 2622 Colorado Blvd., Idaho Springs, CO 80452 (Formerly Heritage Inn)
Location: United States > Colorado > Idaho Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Idaho Springs
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Idaho Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argo Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.