We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Canyon Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Canyon Motel to your Saves list
The Canyon Motel
221 W. Byers Ave., Hot Sulphur Springs, CO 80451   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We were looking for a comfortable, friendly, unpretentious hotel for a quick getaway to soak in some hot springs. We found it in the Canyon Motel. It's mom-and-pop roadside exterior wraps around newly renovated rooms that have just the right blend of amenities and comfort. Although we were only two, our room was well-designed to be a fun and comfortable hangout for a group of four.

The front desk person was friendly and very helpful with suggestions and directions. It is only a short walk to the hot springs - or anywhere else in this little town for that matter.

If I were skiing Winter Park, I would consider staying at Hot Sulphur Springs and making the 30 minute drive to soak in the hot springs every evening. And I would stay at the Canyon Motel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    30
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
41
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We went on a girls weekend to Hot Sulphur Springs for some R&R. The price for two for two nights was around $200 which included the girls night package of manicure, pedicure supplies, DVDs, a pizza, champagne, and two passes to the hot springs.

The room was super clean.

The service was unbelievable. The Motel is a small operation and all of the staff were extremely accommodating.

The hot springs were wonderful and not crowded like some we've been to. There is a spa at the hot springs where you can buy spa services, although we did not..

No cell service, but free wifi.

We would go back anytime. It's close enough to Sol Vista Ski area so we may go up as a family.

There is a great breakfast just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Real nice mom/pop motel. Nice rooms, great bathrooms, friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Very clean rooms, friendly staff, very helpful about where to eat and things to do in the area. We plan to return this summer and look forward to seeing the new lobby.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonMotel, Manager at The Canyon Motel, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at "The Canyon"! We are just getting finished today with a wonderful new fireplace and a great layout for a warm and cozy atmosphere. Our new lobby has become a comfy place to hang out, have a cup of coffee, and meet some great people to share stories about the latest adventure in Grand County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

I stumbled upon Canyon Motel on a business trip and found it to be surprisingly wonderful. Enough so that it is our place of choice for a quick get-a-way to recharge and for longer stays when we want to escape the hustle of city life. Not one to write reviews, we were compelled to share our excitement because the staff was so nice. My husband and I look at each other and say - for the price, service and relaxing atmosphere why not get away for the weekend and be pampered. We highly recommend Canyon Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night following a long trip through Rocky Mtn National Park. We were greeted by the manager--very friendly and knowledgeable--and were shown to a beautiful room. We had stayed in a $99 motel the night before and it had nothing on this one. Enjoyed the hot sulphur springs of varying temperatures. If we're ever back in this area, we'll definitely stay here and will ask for room #4 again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elida, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

My Husband and I are from Ohio and we came to Colorado to visit our daughter who was working the summer at Snow Mountain Ranch. We planned to hike and raft between her work days. I have a lot of arthritis and pain but love the outdoors and the mountains. It was because of this that I wanted to go to the pools at Hot Sulfur Springs. I got on-line and found Canyon Hotel. What a find it was! I have stayed at many top notch hotels on business trips and I would trade them all to stay here again! The room we stayed in was amazing. The decor was lovely with notty pine trim, a lovely glass top table, the bed was so comfortable, the TV had DVD and VCR player,and more; even the window had a mountain scene over the glass. The price was so reasonalbe and the hot-springs pools very close by. After a day of activity and a soak in the pools we came back to our room to crash. My husband was hungry and ordered a pizza, delivered to our room. It was great. The friendliness alone would bring me back but the the place was indeed a great find! I would highly recommend this place to all my friends; and the next time I come to Colorado, I will stay here!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canyon Motel

Address: 221 W. Byers Ave., Hot Sulphur Springs, CO 80451
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Hot Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hot Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Colorado's Hwy 40 scenic byway is Hot Sulphur Springs' only AAA rated motel, just a short walk from the healing waters of the Hot Sulphur Springs Resort and Spa. Welcome to our quiet and peaceful little town in the heart of scenic Grand County Colorado! We take pride in hospitality, personal service, and our outstanding cleanliness beyond the corporate motel chain standards. Stay with us once and you will make the Canyon Motel your regular getaway in the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your The Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Hotel Hot Sulphur Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canyon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.