We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, Clean Rooms, Friendly Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Canyon Motel

Save Saved
You added The Canyon Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Canyon Motel
221 W. Byers Ave., Hot Sulphur Springs, CO 80451   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reisterstown, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great property, Clean Rooms, Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We called late at night and booked our room for my wife and two kids. We arrived after 10:30 and we were quickly checked in and handed the key to our room. The room was clean and comfortable. Had a couch, two beds, and a kitchenette.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    30
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
38
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Rob and Jeanie are so kind and it was a pleasure to meet them both. My sister and I stayed here with our two young daughters and our two dogs. My sister stayed here before and talked about how nice Jeanie was and that we wouldn't be far from the hot springs. When we arrived from our two hour trip that seemed like five hours (driving with a 2 and 4 year old and a sick dog) it was comforting to meet Jeanie and talk with her for awhile. We checked into our room and it was very clean, comfortable, and affordable.
My 4 year old daughter kept saying it was the best room we have ever stayed in lol
there was a little festival in town and we walked there and to the hot springs. On the way back I had the pleasure of meeting Rob who was also walking from the festival. He seemed very nice and I enjoyed meeting him and Jeanie both.
Jeanie brought us freshly picked flowers our second day there:)
This is not the Ritz but personally I would rather stay at a cute place with character and a super nice staff than a big hotel.
I definitely recommend staying here!!!

Room Tip: We had a room with a kitchenette which allowed us to save money on going out to eat
See more room tips
Green Features: organized recycling bins right outside the rooms. House keeping came by to change sheets and towels, organic products
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

we came up during a snowstorm in the office staff waited too late for us. Our room was amazing so cute and has its own amazing touches. She helped out with knowledge of trails and the hot springs. She also made sure everything was perfect. The price was great. Trails are closed Hot Springs is closed. Perfect getaway not paying too much. This will be my spot to always go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Charming, cozy, great people. Just up the road from hot springs, much more reasonable to stay and soak. Plus all the other great access to outdoor fun of all kinds. Must stop and say hi. Rob and Jeanie are wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was a great place to stay! Close to the hot springs, very reasonable rates, clean rooms, and the friendliest staff we've encountered in a long time. We loved the room we had with a kitchenette - it came in handy because there are not many places to eat in Hot Sulphur Springs int he winter. We would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Sulphur Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

From the moment we called and spoke with Jeanie on the phone, it was obvious that we called the right place. Although we had to drive a bit from Winter Park...it was well worth it!

Not only was she courteous, but very knowledgeable and helpful! The rooms were very clean and just the right size.

Traveling becomes very easy when you run into somebody as welcoming as Jeanine! I would go out of my way to stay at The Canyon Motel (and hit up the Hot Springs as well)!

Room Tip: There is one room tucked around a corner that is the most secluded...I believe it is number 62. Enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, UT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I wanted to take a trip to the Hot Sulphur Springs by Granby. This place had GREAT rates and the pictures looked newer and cleaner than other places in the area. They had heated up the room for us and while we arrived late at night, the room was warm and inviting.

A couple of things:
There is almost nowhere to eat after 8 p.m. except for McDonald's. The Hot Springs close at 10. We went to the hot springs and wanted to eat around 9.
No continental breakfast, coffee maker in room, close parking, easy to find, very close to Hot Springs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canyon Motel

Address: 221 W. Byers Ave., Hot Sulphur Springs, CO 80451
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Hot Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hot Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Colorado's Hwy 40 scenic byway is Hot Sulphur Springs' only AAA rated motel, just a short walk from the healing waters of the Hot Sulphur Springs Resort and Spa. Welcome to our quiet and peaceful little town in the heart of scenic Grand County Colorado! We take pride in hospitality, personal service, and our outstanding cleanliness beyond the corporate motel chain standards. Stay with us once and you will make the Canyon Motel your regular getaway in the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Hotel Hot Sulphur Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canyon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.