We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hochosterwitz Castle (Burg Hochosterwitz)

Hochosterwitz Castle (Burg Hochosterwitz)
Hochosterwitz 1, Launsdorf, Austria
0043 0 4213 20 20 or 25 07
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Launsdorf
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
135 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
“Atmospheric Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Burg Hochosterwitz is from central casting. It is an incredible building perched on the top of a large hill and looks as though it is part of the earth itself. It is designed for access by car and there are two parking areas - at the base of the hill for those who like a longer walk, and up a one and a half car width track to the start of the trail up to the castle.

There are two ways up to the castle - via lift or walking. Most choose to walk and this is really the main part of the appeal. The walk up the hill through the 14 defensive gates up to the castle is the attraction. The castle itself does not have so much to offer. The museum is fairly uninspired and does not really tell anywhere near enough of the story of the castle which is a shame. The views from the top are good and given the Carinthian weather can be somewhat atmospheric.

The best view of the castle itself is from afar. The postcard view comes from a spot near the roundabout on the main road before turning off towards the castle itself. It is worth driving slowly enough to get a good shot.

The walk up through the 14 gates is good fun. The path is not too difficult and the gradient is relatively shallow. The gates are mainly the same but the thought process behind their construction is fascinating.

For entry including the lift, the price is a little steep. The depth of entertainment isn't really there. The summit could be considered a little disappointing after the journey up and the characters met en route. The main courtyard is really a beeratorium. A little more history or entertainment at the top would make this a better attraction.

As it is though, Burg Hochosterwitz is one of the sights of Carinthia and so worth taking in for those passing by that way.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    22
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
“Wow--unbelievable fortess with an incredible view from both below and above”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We were staying in Klagenfurt for a few days, and decided to take the train out to see this castle. Boy, was it worth the trip! This is the most impressive castle I have ever seen, including all the ones we've visited in Germany. We walked up through all the gates, feeling sympathy for the Turks who had tried without success to conquer this stronghold so many times. Poor Turks! They should have seen with one look that it was hopeless, and gone home immediately. Gate after gate, so well-fortified.

Once at the top, we poked around for a bit before coming across one of the castle's curators, who gave us a tour, explaining about weapons and various medieval relics in German, and with me translating into English for my dear husband. He was so accomodating and kind. Few people were there, so we got to explore and enjoy the grand old place to our heart's content. Well worth a visit, and we will go again if we are in the area. Thanks again to the wonderful curator for his hospitality!

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We went there especially to see the Castle. We walked all the way to the top, and guess what - it was close!!!! Anyway the Castle is great just to see. Wonderful view from the top.

Visited December 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Take pictures, but don't go up!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

If you are anywhere near Klagenfurt, it is 100% worth the drive to see Hochosterwitz sitting on the hill! As you can tell from the attached, unedited photographs, it is a truly spectacular site, and the farmlands along the road leading to it allow for plenty of photography. So picturesque, it doesn’t look real!

That is where the fun ends. Most of the castle complex itself is not open for touring as far as we could tell, and the 4-room “museum” tours were not offered in English. (Not that there appeared to be much worth seeing in them--but again, we wouldn’t know, since there was no curation, signage, or item descriptions in English). The main courtyard and museum were packed with huge busloads of tour groups. The beergarden (once the crowds left) was a great place to enjoy a beer with a beautiful panoramic view, but was a waste of the 13.50 each Euro we paid to ride the risky-looking funicular to the top and “tour” the castle.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hochosterwitz Castle (Burg Hochosterwitz) also viewed

Keutschach am See, Carinthia
Klagenfurt, Carinthia
 
Klagenfurt, Carinthia
 

Been to Hochosterwitz Castle (Burg Hochosterwitz)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hochosterwitz Castle (Burg Hochosterwitz), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.