We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not stay anywhere else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Lake Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Lake Ranch to your Saves list
Blue Lake Ranch
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   16919 Hwy 140, Hesperus, CO 81326   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hesperus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sum_who
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Will not stay anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

We stayed at in the upper spring house over valentines day. We were a late arrival and there was a key and with welcome letter and a map waiting for us at the door. when we arrived at our room we thought we were lost becasue of its size and elegance. We were pleasantly surprised by all of the attention to detail concerning our room and the property in general. We loved the peace and quite of our room no one to be seen. Which was nice because of the busy work schedule I tend to keep. Blue lake ranch is by far the most relaxing weekend get away I have ever had.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    23
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
33
96
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

What a fantastic inn!!. The grounds are spacious and very private, and the rooms are incredibly designed and furnished to make the most of the beautiful mountain scenery. The inn's host and all the staff are the friendliest we have found at any inn. Breakfast is different every day and absolutely wonderful. The inn is moderately priced and has to be the best value for your money in the area. The photos on their site are very accurate of the rooms. We stayed in the Oak Grove Casita and it couldn't have been more perfect. Without question, we will stay here again the next time we are in the region.

  • Liked — The design of the rooms and the scenery
  • Disliked — TV only gets a few station (if that is a concern for you)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

We spent two nights at this beautiful ranch about 15 miles west of Durango. The adobe main building which houses the reception and the breakfast room is furnished with Mexican pottery, oriental and Indian rugs and comfortable furniture. Individual casitas are dotted around the 250 acre property, providing lots of privacy. Ours included a huge living room with dining area, kitchenette, comfy seating in front of a gas fireplace and a cozy window seat piled with pillows, just perfect for reading or a nap. A large patio opened off the living room and bedroom which was adjoined by a double bathroom with ochre granite countertops, Mexican Talavera sinks and an open sided shower, as well as a soaking tub and two big closets. The living room and bedroom were light and airy with lots of windows.
Breakfast was a wonderful spread of juice, coffee, pastries, fresh fruits and a different specialty each day such as a Southwest omelet.
The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. This place is remote, but for those seeking a peaceful escape in the beautiful Four Corners area, it is perfect. Day trips to Durango, Mesa Verde and along the San Juan Skyway including Silverton, Ouray and Telluride are well within reach.

  • Liked — The southwest atmosphere and quiet setting
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

We visited Blue Lake Ranch during the first week of August, and we were pleased with the experience overall. The staff were friendly and hospitable, and the accomodations were clean. Breakfast was tasty, particularly the Ranch's homemade jams. We stayed in the Cottage in the Woods, which was comfortable and surrounded by a picturesque garden. However, I wouldn't recommend staying in the unit if you're scared of bugs -- it seemed like we were constantly having to kill spiders, moths, and other insects that got into the bathroom through the rustic/poorly sealed windows. Also, it does take about 20 minutes to drive from Blue Lake Ranch into Durango, but if you like greater seclusion and privacy, it's perfect! For more details and photos of the cottage in which we stayed, check out my travel review at [-].

  • Liked — Beautiful setting
  • Disliked — Too many bugs getting into the bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

As you drive to Blue Lake Ranch, about 15 miles southwest of Durango, if the reviews about the great gardens are all hype.
Turning in you feel you are in the middle of bland, scrub pine desert, yet once you enter the grounds there is a great rustic lodge and casitas right in the middle of lush gardens. The owners and staff are very friendly. Tex-Mex style breakfasts are different and fun. Our southwestern style casita was very large and comfortable. Great place to bring small children.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

This is quite a property! Beautiful grounds and they do such a wonderful job of maintaining it all. The little details are very appreciated. The Sunrise Casita was lovely. HUGE. Pics online did not do it justice. We had a great mountain view and cute deck to sit on. The owner, David, is an excellent host and seems to make friends with each and every guest. He clearly loves what he does! The breakfasts were all different and delicious. The only negative is the 20 mile drive into Durango... but even still this is a great place to relax for a few days! Dont miss the Kennebec restaurant when you stay here.. just down the road in Hesperus and its excellent!!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

My Husband and I had to go to Durango for work—we decided to stay at this B&B and it turned out to be our “second honey moon.” Friendly staff, beautiful landscaping, and wonderful breakfast! It beat staying at the regular old hotels we were used to staying at. We are an active couple and took advantage of fishing in the pond and local rivers (great fishing in the pond) we hiked around and enjoyed everything this inn had to offer! I don’t think I have ever met people so welcoming . I would highly recommend this hotel to any young couple looking for a great place to stay that isn’t too far from golf, fishing, hiking, anything that Colorado has to offer. What a place.

  • Liked — The grounds
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Lake Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lake Ranch

Address: 16919 Hwy 140, Hesperus, CO 81326
Location: United States > Colorado > Hesperus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hesperus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lake Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 200 secluded acres with its own trout-filled lake, the Ranch is tucked in a spring fed valley well off the county road. Famous for its spectacular gardens and mountain views the Ranch offers unparalleled year-round sensory delights, from the quiet of a winter's snowfall to the fragrance of 10,000 iris in summer bloom. Our heirloom (old fashioned) flower seeds and jams & honeys are available for purchase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Lake Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lake Ranch Hotel Hesperus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Lake Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.