We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Lake Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Lake Ranch to your Saves list
Blue Lake Ranch
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   16919 Hwy 140, Hesperus, CO 81326   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hesperus B&B and Inns
Durango, Colorado, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The cabin on the lake was a cozy and relaxing spot for our group retreat. The colors were lovely, the cats came on walks with us around the lake, and the breakfasts were delicious. Our group of friends had all the privacy we wanted and the staff was warm and very helpful. We stayed two nights and it was very affordable. We will do it again next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelakeranch, General Manager at Blue Lake Ranch, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Cabin on the Lake and Blue Lake Ranch. Fall is a great time of the year to visit the Ranch and the Cabin is the perfect homebase to get together with friends and family. I will pass your kind words on to the staff and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    23
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
33
93
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telluride, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here while visiting Durango for the weekend. For the price of a small room in Durango, we were able to stay in a large one bedroom villa surrounded by a relaxing, natural setting. Scott, the manager, and the rest of the staff were very helpful. The Kennebec Cafe is an excellent restaurant choice just a few miles away. We will definitely return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blranch, General Manager at Blue Lake Ranch, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Blue Lake Ranch. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the area as a whole. The Blue Lake Ranch Estate makes a wonderful serene home base to rejuvenate and relax with loved ones. It becomes the perfect place to slow down and focus on what is important in life.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay at Blue Lake Ranch. All of the staff members were friendly and helpful. Jackie cooked up a delicious breakfast each morning and greeted us very warmly. Our room was clean and comfortable. We stayed in the La Plata Vista Room for two nights and extended our stay for one more night due to a snow storm. Since our room was not available for a third night, we were moved to the Oak Grove Casita. The La Plata Vista room was very adequate for the two of us, but the Oak Casita was wonderful! The Casita is very roomy and can easily accommodate 4 people. For future visits we would definitely pay the extra amount for the Casita. It was suggested that we dine at the Kennebec Cafe and it was great! We ate there twice. Blue Lake Ranch is definitely on our list for another visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelakeranch, General Manager at Blue Lake Ranch, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Blue Lake Ranch and the La Plata Vista/Oak Grove Casita. I am glad you had such a nice visit and will pass your kind words on to the staff. Fall is my favorite time to visit the Ranch, the Fall colors, crisp air in the morning, and the excitement of upcoming winter.
I am glad you enjoyed both rooms you were in. Guests that need a little more room or are traveling with kids find the Casitas to be a great fit. For larger groups the Spring House, River House, Mountain View, and the Cabin on the Lake make a great home base to explore the area.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Cove, Al
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

One of the reasons we stayed at Blue Lake is because they advertised having a lake stocked with trophy size rainbow trout. In fact there are no trout in the lake, only carp. The trout were all killed by an algae and it was stocked with trout in an attempt to remove the algae. This apparently happened several years ago but they still advertise having a lake stocked with rainbow trout.
The ranch overall is beautiful and the cabins were very nice. Also the breakfasts are wonderful. If you want a relaxing, seculed place to stay then this is it. If you want to do any fishing in the lake this is not the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelakeranch, General Manager at Blue Lake Ranch, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Blue Lake Ranch and specifically the fishing in the lake. I went down over the weekend and was able to catch 2 small rainbow trout and lost one what I believe to be a brown trout on a spinner and with salmon eggs.
We did add the Grass Carp to the lake to help with algae control and to be another game fish. We plan to restock in the spring with larger brown and rainbow trout as the trout population has dwindled a bit in the last 2 years. I have had a fisheries biologist come out and walk me through a program to make the lake ideal for both grass carp and trout to fill all anglers desires. I am sorry you were disappointed with the fishing and hope you will come back and try again.
Our owners also have private waters on the Gold Medal Animas River that our guests can take advantage of. This stretch is one of the best in the state and a not to be missed for the angler in your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We found Blue Lake Ranch to be a lovely relaxing place. In order to maximize our stay here we were in the Cedar Casita for most of the time then moved to the Sunset Casita for our last night. We would have stayed longer but alas all rooms were booked for a wedding. We really enjoyed the Cedar Casita. It was very roomy and secluded where you don't have to worry about closing the blinds/drapes. From the porch and bedroom you can see the mountains. We could not hear our neighbors in the connected casita at all.

The Sunset casita was a different story. This is 3 Casitas connected. We could hear our neighbors TV and every time they walked around. One of the connected casita's shower pipes makes this annoying shrill. The porch has a clear view of the mountains and nice deck chairs for reading your book.

Breakfast was always a big hit. Jackie is full of personality and makes a savory breakfast -- every morning was something different. We felt very welcome here.

There is a large collection of DVD/VHS tapes that you can borrow to watch movies in your room. TV's are tube TVs.

While the rooms are advertised as kitchenettes it is best to check what is included in your room. Before booking I read reviews on here where people went into town to get groceries to make steaks for the grill and making spaghetti. The two suites we were in had a dorm room size fridge, a microwave large enough to pop a bag of popcorn, and a coffee maker. We looked and couldn't find a BBQ grill on the grounds. For dinner, we drive to Kennebec's -- a short drive back to the main highway and enjoyed their food. This saved driving back into Durango and we weren't really impressed with food in Durango.

Speaking of driving WATCH OUT FOR DEER! Every evening we were driving we saw at least one deer on the edge of the highway. They are hard to see and if you hit one, can total your car.

We would stay in the Cedar Casita again.

Room Tip: Recommend Cedar Casita
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blranch, General Manager at Blue Lake Ranch, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Blue Lake Ranch. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and time at the Ranch. We have 16 different units ranging from a 300 square foot luxury hotel room all the way to 2 and 3 bedroom private homes and cabins. Our goal is to have a unit to fit everyone's needs while staying in Durango.
I will pass your kind words on to the staff and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Two main issues that knocked this down from five stars.
1. Length of time we waited to check in. Admittedly we were early (2:20pm, for 3pm check in), however we were told our room would be ready "momentarily". In fact it was a full hour before we were given keys. We were given a free bottle of wine for our trouble, however we would have preferred an accurate estimation at the start so we could have done something else.
2. The room was directly above the breakfast area of the main house. This was not a problem overnight, but from around 7.30 the next morning the room was very noisy with guests' conversations audible through the floor.

That said, the room had good facilities and a great view of the lake and stars at night. The setting is beautiful and we would return but only to stay in a cabin, not the main house.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blranch, General Manager at Blue Lake Ranch, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Blue Lake Ranch. We strive to learn from our mistakes and I want to apologize that you had to wait for your room at checkin. It is a balancing act to get rooms ready for guests while making sure they are clean and inspected and up to our high standards.
As for the kitchen noise I am working with my maintenance department to see if we can make the units upstairs more sound proof so that are guests can enjoy the peace and quite of Blue Lake Ranch.
Please come back and stay with us again so that we can show you a perfect experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

To call Blue Lake Ranch a B & B would do it injustice. It is that and so much more. From the special breakfast cooked up for me by the cook from Brazil when I told her I was lactose intollerant to the beautiful grounds with, yes, a small lake on it (complete with a resident loon),the experience was magnificent. This was our second visit, and they still had us in their system even tho it was eight years ago. It was every bit as delightful as we remembered it being from before. The casita is so large it is like a small condo, and it is ellegant. They think of everything. Don't hesitate to try this for a long weekend, or include it on your next road trip ( you'll want to stay more than one night).

Room Tip: The casitas are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blranch, General Manager at Blue Lake Ranch, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Blue Lake Ranch and one of our Casitas. I am glad you had such a good trip back to the Ranch and will share your kind words with the staff. We strive to help every guest have an "experience" while staying at Blue Lake Ranch. It may sound cliche but we truly enjoy helping guests make memories.

We look forward to another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Lake Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lake Ranch

Address: 16919 Hwy 140, Hesperus, CO 81326
Location: United States > Colorado > Hesperus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hesperus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lake Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 200 secluded acres with its own trout-filled lake, the Ranch is tucked in a spring fed valley well off the county road. Famous for its spectacular gardens and mountain views the Ranch offers unparalleled year-round sensory delights, from the quiet of a winter's snowfall to the fragrance of 10,000 iris in summer bloom. Our heirloom (old fashioned) flower seeds and jams & honeys are available for purchase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Blue Lake Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lake Ranch Hotel Hesperus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Lake Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.