We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Splendid!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Lake Ranch

Save Saved
You added Blue Lake Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Blue Lake Ranch
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   16919 Hwy 140, Hesperus, CO 81326   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hesperus B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simply Splendid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Cabin by the Lake for four idyllic days and can't wait to go back! The cabin is simple and rustic, but very comfortable & clean, with lovely bathrooms and comfortable sofas & beds. The views are very pretty, and the path around the "lake" (really more of a large pond) makes a sweet little walk. The cabin's kitchen is well equipped (though - note to owners - you really need to provide a large pasta pot and maybe some herbs & salt!) and the coffee beans provided in the fridge made a delicious pot of coffee. We enjoyed lounging on the deck & the dock during the day, and inside on the very comfy sofas at night. Local trips to Mesa Verde and Silverton were just a start of the many activities for families in the area. Gardens on the property were pretty, and a very pleasant morning stroll of the property was a wonderful way to start a day of R&R.

The stars were bright, the air was pure, the people wonderfully helpful & sweet, and the breakfasts fresh & satisfying. I can't really think of anything I would change (except the pasta pot!). We will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cabin by the Lake; other buildings and rooms on the property also looked quite nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelakeranch, General Manager at Blue Lake Ranch, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Blue Lake Ranch and the Cabin on the lake. The Cabin is one of my favorite units as it works as a perfect home base for all the wonderful activites in the area. The deck and dock of the Cabin are the perfect place to enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning and a glass of wine in the evening while taking in the wildlife and the gardens of the Ranch.

I will go through the kitchen to make sure it is stocked with all needed items to cook a family feast. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    18
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
80
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fish Creek, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Lakeside suite was beautifully appointed, with fireplace and kitchen area in the room. Views of the small lake and mountains were beautiful. My husband and I walked around the property in the morning. Breakfast was great- well prepared, with lots of variety. It was a wonderful experience, which we hope to repeat in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blranch, General Manager at Blue Lake Ranch, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Blue Lake Ranch and the Lake View Suite. I will share your kind words with the staff and I am pleased you had such a good stay. Fall is beginning at the Ranch and it is a great time to realx and stroll the amazing grounds. I hope you are able to come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

If you googled those words you would come up with a link to "Blue Lake Ranch". Well, maybe not literally, but it sure would fit. Every detail has been thought through at this lovely oasis. If you like beautiful landscapes accented with seasonal flower gardens, luxurious accommodations, fresh/new linens, a sumptuous breakfast that changes daily, and gracious hospitality...this is the place for you.
One of the highlights of this out-of-the-way treat is a breakfast prepared by Jackie! The food and hospitality will make you want to linger longer than you had planned....and isn't that what vacation is all about!

Room Tip: each room has unique charm I'm sure. Their website is very detailed and accurate....no hocus po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blranch, General Manager at Blue Lake Ranch, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Blue Lake Ranch. These are the kinds of reviews I love reading and sharing with the staff. Our goal is to exceed all guests expectations and I believe you do this customer service, attention to detail, and going the extra mile for our guests. I am glad you had such a wonderful experience and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I spent three days at the Blue Lake Ranch in mid-August, and I wish it could have been longer after experiencing the quiet and the beauty of the inn and the passion of the staff. We stayed in the Pinion Suite, just a short walk from the main house, and at first thought we might be the only guests - it was that private. At breakfast, however, people just started showing up, and it became apparent that the inn was well-filled, but the cabins are separated so well that one wouldn't realize that readily. Jackie, the cook, makes wonderful breakfasts, usually involving some Southwestern options (tamales one morning!) as well as more conventional fare, all of it utterly delicious. The suite was comfortable and well-appointed, and the grounds simply invite you to wander in awe among the flowers, the fruit trees, and the bushes. The dedication to the facility is apparent in having had the same people doing the cooking, maintenance, landscape work, etc for decades. I spoke with several guests who had made annual pilgrimages for several years, one couple for 22 years. For trout fisherpersons, there wasn't much action on the lake - I noticed them rising along the edges near dark one evening, long after I had put away my rod - but don't hesitate to ask about fishing on the Isgard's property along the Animas - a beautiful stretch of water, and a lot of trout. There are minor drawbacks - it is a good drive from Durango, so you need to plan carefully for dinner (although the suite had a fully-equipped kitchen if we had wanted to eat in). And I wouldn't want to arrive for the first time at night - the driveway is pretty obscure (trust the directions about the 17 mile marker). But that is niggling. Great place, particularly for adults.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelakeranch, General Manager at Blue Lake Ranch, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Blue Lake Ranch and the Pinion Suite. I am glad you had such a great visit, enjoyed our breakfast, and were able to fish the Alford's private water on the Animas. I made my first fishing trip of the season there last week and caught at least 20 fish. It is a great amenity for our guests to enjoy as this is the gold medal waters stretch of the Animas and is seldom fished making it that much better.

I will pass your kind words on to the staff and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I held my wedding at Ridgewood Event Center this last July 7th and most of my wedding party stayed at Blue Lake Ranch before the wedding and we had the most wonderful experience all around. The overall beauty of the gardens and cottages is enough to make the stay very enjoyable, but the warm and welcoming staff at Blue Lake makes the entire experience above and beyond my expectations. I would readily recommend Blue Lake as a wonderful destination to just get away or to have your wedding!
Thank you for a wonderful experience,
Heather May Charbonneau

Room Tip: We stayed in the Upper and Lower Spring house and for a family or wedding party this house is perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blranch, General Manager at Blue Lake Ranch, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Blue Lake Ranch. It is always a pleasure to host wedding groups with their family and friends as we love creating and being part of memories.

The Ridgewood Events Center is an amazing location for weddings up to 200 guests. It was the first venue built specifically with weddings and groups in mind and has wonderful views of the La Plata Mountains with nearby gardens.

I will pass on your kind words to the staff as they are a big part of what makes Blue Lake Ranch so unique and special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The entrance is hard to find - look for the Mailbox that says Blue lake Ranch on it. There are signs on the road that announce it from either direction, but they are small and easy to miss.
We were told there was plenty of parking, but there was actually very little. The grounds roads are all gravel, FYI.

Our room (Mesa Verde) was cute and really a nice idea - two story, with the kitchen and bath downstairs and the bed with a sitting area upstairs. It also had a TV. We had a window air-conditioner in the room, and it did get cold but was too loud for sleeping. Unfortunately, without the air-conditioner, the room, being upstairs, was incredibly hot. The room as attached to another room with a foyer in between. It was really very nice.
The down side of this cute, spacious, room was that it SMELLED horrible. Like sewage. When we first walked in, I mentioned it and Scott, the guy who led us to the room (turns out he is a manager) just said "yeah, they were just in here cleaning it". I have NO idea what that meant, since it was overwhelming. I ended up buying some Febreze to make it bearable.

If you are squeamish about bugs (spiders, in particular) this is NOT the place for you. They were EVERYWHERE. The front door to our cabin was left open, and there were over a dozen flies on the ceiling and a bee and two wasps in that foyer. In our room we saw, in two days, 10 spiders.

The path outside our room was overgrown. There were weeds on the ground that you had to wade through and a tree that hung low over a step that went up. When our cabin-mate showed up, someone pulled the weeds over the walkway, to make it easier to squeeze through. I actually got poked in the eye by a low branch at the cabin entrance, so my husband cut that one off.
They told us that the owners don't believe in trimming - they prefer that nature take its own course. So, the grounds ARE very pretty (camera-worthy), but the paths are not well-maintained, as far as that goes. The owners also don't believe in chemical control of the bugs, so that is why so many critters.
We walked the paths the first night, and you definitely don't want to do that in the dark - we saw someone trip and flip off a small cliff. Again, very pretty. There is a lake there, too. Take some bug spray to avoid bites. I bought some at the Walgreen's there - all natural, in keeping with their motif.
In our cabin they had a small kitchen area with a refrigerator, microwave, sink and coffee maker. They provided some coffee, too,which was very nice. We had breakfast there on 2 mornings, and combined, they consisted of yogurt, granola, sliced ham, poached eggs (one day with spinach and one day without), dry cereal, dried fruit and blueberries, calabacitas, and biscuits and gravy. They have bread and a variety of honey spreads, too. Plenty of seating, inside or out.

This place was like NO other B&B I have seen, in that it had separate cabins and a buffet-style breakfast. In summary, it was really nice in some ways, not so nice in others. The staff that we dealt with was not very friendly, for the most part, although they were helpful. We heard someone complaining about bad attitudes while we were getting ready to leave, so we are not alone in that thinking.

The idea of this place was very nice, but the spiders, smell, and attitudes made me drop this review to 3-stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelakeranch, General Manager at Blue Lake Ranch, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Blue Lake Ranch and the Mesa Verde Room. Let me start by saying I am sorry you had a less than perfect stay as we always strive to exceed guests expectations.

I wish we could have talked more about your issues during your stay so we could have taken care of your issues. We keep signage on the highway to a minimum to let our guests enjoy the serenity of nature and not bothered by non guests just stopping by. I am not sure about the smell you mention I remember at check in the pine-sol smell as we arrived just after the housekeepers left. We try and keep the grounds and flowers as natural as possible so that our guests can enjoy the serenity that they provide.

I will talk to the staff about your comments so we can improve our services and groundskeeping.

I hope that you come back for another visit and see all the Ranch can provide, I know you would have a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our stay at this lodge was incredible. We had one of the nice southwest cabins all to ourselves. We went in to town, bought some steaks and beer, and came back and sat on our patio to watch the beautiful view. Simply gorgeous, serene grounds and spacious, lovely rooms. We had breakfast in the main house which was also beautiful. Staff was very warm and food was good and plentiful. Our main purpose of this trip was to go to the amazing Mesa Verde cliff dwellings, but the stay at this lodge rivaled as the most memorable part of our trip. My youngest son decided during this trip that he wants to live in Colorado, live at the Blue Lake Ranch, and work as a part-time park ranger and surgeon. Our choice of this property definitely made the trip special for the whole family.

Room Tip: The cedar casita was just perfect. We barbecued on the patio, enjoyed the spacious rooms, and felt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blranch, General Manager at Blue Lake Ranch, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review of Blue Lake Ranch. Perfect is my favorite word to describe a stay at the Ranch. I will pass along your review to the staff and we look forward to a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Lake Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lake Ranch

Also Known As:
Blue Lake Ranch Hotel Hesperus
Blue Lake Ranch Hotel
Address: 16919 Hwy 140, Hesperus, CO 81326
Location: United States > Colorado > Hesperus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hesperus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lake Ranch 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 200 secluded acres with its own trout-filled lake, the Ranch is tucked in a spring fed valley well off the county road. Famous for its spectacular gardens and mountain views the Ranch offers unparalleled year-round sensory delights, from the quiet of a winter's snowfall to the fragrance of 10,000 iris in summer bloom. Our heirloom (old fashioned) flower seeds and jams & honeys are available for purchase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Blue Lake Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Lake Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.