We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. But the place smells funny” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Lotus

Thai Lotus
5131 S Yosemite St, Greenwood Village, CO 80111
(720) 529-8155
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Colorado
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food. But the place smells funny”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Maybe it smells like cleanser. Cant really tell. But ate there a few times. Good curry. OK not great food.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    2
    3
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“As authentic as the family that runs it. Give it a try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Overall: It is great. That is all you need to know.

To address the lower ratings, it looks like they aren't terribly consistant with their food albeit my serving was delicious.

Upon entering I was immediately hit with strong smells of delicious food and a multitude of people speaking Thai. I take the latter as a the best sign of good Thai food.

The place is small and a little cramped, but it was empty for dinner. We ordered quickly because my wife and I both know what are our standard items are and we were hungry. My wife got the Pad Thai (mild) and I got the Golden Curry (medium). The food came out a little while later and was placed in front of us steamy and hot. Presentation was good. Taste was fantastic and the food was gone as fast as it arrived. The mild is a little too mild, so I was happy that I ordered my entree medium.

I think that the food is authentic as the people running it. It was real Thai food, good, savory and fairly cheap. It is worth giving a try if you are in the area.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good Stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I went to Thai Lotus to meet up to catch up with friends. I never heard of this place so I was excited to try it out. The place is small but functional. The server, who I think was an owner was personable brought me hot jasmine tea while I waited for the rest of my party. When ordering I tried my usual of drunken noodles and spring rolls, my friends had more exotic selections of soups and entrees which I tried. Definitely different/interesting tastes of the various dishes but very good. I believe this is closer to traditional Thai, not Westernized. This is not upscale but it was an enjoyable experience the same and not a killer on the wallet. Worth a try....... Recommended!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Bad tasting food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Ate here last week for lunch. It was very warm inside, and I felt uncomfortable. Ordered off lunch menu. Teeny-tiny salad followed by entree. I ordered tofu pad Thai. It tasted bad/odd. Looked and tasted like there was a lot of ketchup in it.My lunch partner had a chicken dish that was very small. They include all the tea or soda you like w/the lunch menu items. I ate less than a quarter of my entree and left it on the plate. Taste was off-putting. Will not return.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western part
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“I didn't like it at all”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

I ordered the Tom Yam soup and I didn't care for it at all. The chicken was sliced in such a way that it was just not adding anything to the meal. The taste of the soup wasn't so good either.

I was given a Chinese soup spoon to eat my soup with and I noticed people at the next table were using chopsticks. This is a good clue to it not being very Thai.

I had an unimpressive chicken dish for the main course and my only thoughts on this place is that will not be going here again. It wasn't absolutely horrible, but when you go to an ethnic restaurant, you actually expect to have something that's good, and I didn't experience that.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Lotus also viewed

Greenwood Village, CO
Greenwood Village, CO
 
Greenwood Village, CO
 

Been to Thai Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Lotus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.