We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surroundings, but over seasoned food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cool River Cafe

Cool River Cafe
8000 East Bellview Ave, Greenwood Village, CO 80111
303-771-4117
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cool River Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Hamburgers, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bellview and I-25
Transit: Belleview Avenue Light Rail 1/4 mile
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice surroundings, but over seasoned food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant has a nice ambiance but on the two occasions I have been here my entrees have been covered in ground pepper, however on a plus note the sides are very good. There's better places to eat in Denver !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great Steak and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a wonderful restaurant in the Denver Tech Center.

Cool River holds true to it's name of being 'cool.' The restaurant has had a renovation and the decor is very trendy and inviting. The restaurant is on the first and second floors and the entire place feels very cool and hip. Many tables are filled with people in ties and suits fresh from the office. There is a sports bar style lounge that was serving high-end vodka specials. The entire place had tons of energy.

the menu has a very good selection of higher end steakhouse entrees, but also has smaller portions and a good variety of other eats-- the mac and cheese as a 'side' is big enough to share and is amazing. Steaks are cooked steakhouse style and the sides and sauces were seasoned well and the vegetables were slightly crunchy and very tasty (asparagus is a plus).

Our only disappointing part of the evening was the salad, which lacked any inspiration and had almost a bagged salad feel. Overall a very good meal

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Decent Meal...Nothing More”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Recently dined at the Cool River Cafe while traveling on business. Restaurant is very attractive and inviting. Service was prompt and courteous.

My meal began with an iceberg wedge salad that was very good. The bread that accompanied the salad was also quite good. For my entree, I ordered the Autralian Lobster Tail. It included one side, so I included 6 cheese scalloped potatoes. The lobster tail was good (hard to ruin a lobster tail). The scalloped potatoes, however, were not very good. The potatoes were undercooked and the "6 cheeses" they sat in consisted of a tasteless pool of white liquid.

I've dined at some nice, upscale establishments over the last year. The Cool River Cafe falls somewhere in the middle of the pack of those restaurants.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

They shouldn't offer brunch. Ever. Horrible, terrible experience at this restaurant. Bad service & the food was even worse!! Please save your money-yuck!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fabulous for business dinner party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Excellent food and service! Our group had choices for salad, entree and dessert, and almost everyone had the NY strip steak which was excellent. The servers were all attentive with drinks and handling orders very professionally without interfering in conversations. Everyone had enjoyed their dinner and the atmosphere was terrific as well. Beautiful restaurant, both in the main dining are as well as the private room where our group was seated. We could still see the other areas of the restaurant, so you don't feel isolated, but with the doors closed, the noise does not bother your group. We went midweek and there were a lot of people, so it must be a very popular location. It was my first time there, and I thought everything was wonderful.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cool River Cafe also viewed

Greenwood Village, CO
 
Greenwood Village, CO
Greenwood Village, CO
 

Been to Cool River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cool River Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.