We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shadowcliff Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shadowcliff Lodge
Save
You added Shadowcliff Lodge to your Saves list
405 Summerland Park Road, P.O. Box 658, Grand Lake, CO 80447   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

If you are looking for a quirky, inexpensive place to stay that offers clean, no thrills rooms or bunks, clean bathrooms, a kitchen to cook your own food, a nice common area, unbelievable views and a short walk into town, then this is your place. The lodge is located near the Western entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and is a great hub for exploring the less visited side of the park.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
6
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I discovered this gem in 1997 & have visited ever since. Open from Memorial Day through September, the Lodge accommodations & cabins welcome families, individuals & conference / retreats of all sizes.

My favorite rooms are # 5 & 6 and
the Women's & Men's Hostel rooms.


These 4 rooms overlook & over-
hear the Tonahutu River & North Inlet to Grand Lake.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Perched on a rock cliff overlooking Grand Lake, this lodge has a great view of the town, lake and surrounding mountains. You can stay in the dormitory room for $23/night, or rent a private room for about $60. The dormitory room offers small lockers (bring your own lock) where you can keep valuables safely. The bunk beds were quite comfortable. Bathrooms are shared, but very clean. In general, the whole lodge is clean and the staff - mostly college age kids - are friendly. There is a small kitchen with refrigerator where you can keep your own food while you stay, a large common area on the first floor with a fire pit, living room with comfortable sofas, games, books, dining area, and a wraparound outdoor porch with fine views. Located close to 2 hiking trails going into Rock Mtn National Park, it is the perfect base camp for a backpacking trip or day hiking. For those without a car, the lodge offers shuttle rides to/from Granby, CO, for $12 each way.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

I worked at Shadowcliff in the 80s, as a volunteer (over two summers) when the Rempels were still there...I love the place because of the time and effort I put in...it's not just a regular hotel/lodge...it's a result of many people who volunteered to build it and to maintain it. We did it because we loved the place...I haven't been back in over 18 years, but I tell my wife that that's where I want my ashes to be strewn....go and experience the place...it's not luxurious, but it's spiritual and it's just plain fun...go not to be served, but to be part of the experience...

  • Liked — economic, but comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

The owners were gracious, and we loved the view from our room. Definately not a luxury lodge, but that's not my style anyway. You share the bathroom down the hall, and you can rent a private room in the lodge or stay in the hostel dorms. There is a big family room with tons of books and games, and comfortable seating. The outside deck has amazing views & old-fashioned wooden chairs. Walking distance to town, if you are a bit adventurous. I will be back!

  • Liked — View
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2006

My family and I came to Shadowcliff for a weekend. The view is astounding and we ended up eating our morning meals on the deck overlooking the view. It is not an extravagant place, it's just a nice down to Earth homey lodge where you can take a breath and enjoy the beauty of the mountains. The lodge is close to the Rocky Mountain National Park and has a river overlook on one side with a view of Grand Lake and the small town on the other side. I plan on making it a annual family trip! (Or my own little get away shhhh.)

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shadowcliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadowcliff Lodge

Address: 405 Summerland Park Road, P.O. Box 658, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadowcliff is a 4-acre mountain retreat featuring 2 lodges providing private guest rooms, a hostel, and three cabins. The property features unforgettable views of Grand Lake and towering mountain peaks. Rocky Mountain National Park is a two-minute walk away. Lodges provide private rooms with shared bathrooms, common lounge and dining areas, kitchen facilities, and a quiet restful environment. We have three self contained cabins that will accommodate up to 8 adults. One cabin sits right on the rivers bend. Reduced rates and meal services are available for larger groups (15 or more). WE ARE OPEN FROM MEMORIAL DAY MONDAY THROUGH THE END OF SEPTEMBER EACH YEAR. WE ARE AVAILABLE BY TELEPHONE THROUGHOUT THE YEAR. THANK YOU. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shadowcliff Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.