We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bravo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain Repertory Theatre

Rocky Mountain Repertory Theatre
800 Grand Ave., Grand Lake, CO 80447
970-627-3421
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Grand Lake
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Colorado's premiere summer musical company - Denver Post. RMRT produces live, professional theatre in beautiful Grand Lake, CO at the Western entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. Entering its 42nd year, RMRT produces three Broadway musicals in true repertory nightly in the summer months and one musical weekends in September.
Denver
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Bravo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We saw "The Drowsy Chaperon". A nice production of a very funny play. The cast was fantastic. The Theater is new and lovely. Comfortable seating in a nicely appointed space. We plan to go again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Really, Anything Goes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This group is good. I go to ANY production of "Anythig Goes" anywhere, and this repertory co. Is
as good as any I've seen. I think others agree, as it appeared to be a sold out performance, with many locals making up the audience. I would definitely attend this company's performances again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“First Rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Love visiting local playhouses and this one was no disappointment. We were there for Jeckyl/Hyde performance. It was very well done and enjoyed by all. Very nice theater as well.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha, ne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“broadway in the rockies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

wow. this is a gem I did not expect in the middle of the Rockies. I travel quarterly to New York on business. For the past several years, I've made sure to catch a Broadway show on each trip. I've seen many Tony-award winning shows. So when I tell you that Jekyll and Hyde at the Rocky Mountain Rep is comparabile to Broadway, I'm not blowing smoke. They have a phenominal venue, built brand new just a year ago. I'll bet they visited Broadway because I feel like they took many of the best aspects of the Shubert, Gerschwin, Majestic and more and incorporated it into their theatre. It has wonderful acoustics, is very intimate, has the latest sound and lighting technology...and oh by the way did I mention it's in the middle of the Rockies? The acting was supurb. The singing was impressive. And while everything had a Broadway-caliber feel, even better was the long-term family feel to the Theatre. The pictures of shows dating back to the 70s in their old venue across the road, combined with the cast coming out for a meet and greet after the show, gave it a unique Hometown meets Tinseltown feel. As for the show, I can see why Broadway is bringing back Jekyl and Hyde next year. I'm just not sure it'll be better than what I saw a couple weeks ago.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Saw all three 2012 Summer Musicals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

What a great 2012 season. We saw Anything Goes, The Drowsy Chaperone, and Jekyll and Hyde during the week we were in Grand Lake on vacation. All three were very entertaining. The Threatre is a well managed and funded organization and is top notch. It is a professional operation and the actors are young professionals who are very talented. The Theatre Facility itself is outstanding. I beleive this is the second season in the new building. It is supported by some very generous and proud people in the community. We really enjoyed the three productions and hope to make it back to Grand Lake some day and will definately include the RMRT.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Mountain Repertory Theatre also viewed

Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 
Grand Lake, Grand County
 

Been to Rocky Mountain Repertory Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain Repertory Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.