We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating by the rapids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rapids Lodge Restaurant

Rapids Lodge Restaurant
210 Rapids Ln, Grand Lake, CO 80447
+1 970-627-3707
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Grand Lake
Price range: $10 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Eating by the rapids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Excellent food, good service, and beautiful view of the rapids.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    27
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
okc
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great meal, beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Such an enjoyable evening! Loved the menu with unusual dressing and sauce combinations that were delicious, as well as the small plates and entrees. But the star was their black bean soup - best I have ever had! Don't miss eating here for dinner, and make sure to ask for a river view when you make your reservations!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We had a really nice dinner tonight, far surpassing our expectations. We travelled from Aspen and frankly our dinner at the Rapids was far tastier, had better service and cost about half what we paid for a comparable meal in Aspen. The service was truly friendly. We initially thought the prices were high but they included shrimp cocktail, soup or salad and a surprise. The portions were huge and, most importantly, the food was very well prepared and tasty. We even had a good guitarist singer to accompany dinner. With a great river view, it far surpassed one of the more trendy restaurants in Aspen which we ate in last night. Good food, god service and good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful lunch setting, tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

You may miss this wonderful lunch place, because it's not on the free Grand Lake merchants map, but it is worth the short walk for lunch. We had the pulled pork sandwich and the smoked salmon sandwich. Both were generous servings and well prepared. And you can't beat the patio dining next to the rapids with the martins zipping up and down the river.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Rapids has really gone downhill.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This used to be one of our favorite restaurants--great, gourmet food, beautifully presented and perfectly prepared. Not so any more. The menu is much more limited, and menu items are ho-hum. Salad was good, bread was blah, salmon over-cooked and sides really humdrum. Dessert was good. One poor, overworked server handled the entire dining room and the bar.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rapids Lodge Restaurant also viewed

Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 
Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 

Been to Rapids Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rapids Lodge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.