We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy and Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sagebrush BBQ & Grill

Sagebrush BBQ & Grill
1101 Grand Avenue, Grand Lake, CO 80447
+1 970-627-1404
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 32 Restaurants in Grand Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Not Just Great BBQ. Sandwiches, fish, chicken, veggie dishes, Gluten-free menu. Full bar. Family friendly. Just throw the peanuts on the floor.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Busy and Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

They were very busy and our waitress did a really good job of making sure our drinks were always filled and needs met. Food was slightly above average. Nothing special about the brat, it's a brat on bread was the biggest comment at our table.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    194
    67
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great for lunch or dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We ate here twice as they have a large menu and provide good food and good service. We tried BBQ, Soups and sandwiches and all were excellent. There does seem to be a wait on weekends so we ended up eating here during the week and were glad we did. They do have elk sausage and the local Rocky Mountain Brewery beer as well as many other choices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant we found”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The food at this restaurant was the best we found in Grand Lake. The menu is very diverse, including salads, sandwiches, elk and bison, and the BBQ. There were enough options that all the members of our family were satisfied with the choices available. The food was cooked exactly to our order. It did seem the waitress was more concerned with her phone than her tables. If the service was better, it would be excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Grand Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We needed a gluten free option for my daughter and the greeter at the door replied they have gluten free items. Unfortunately, we experienced a disconnect between the waitress and the kitchen. The pulled pork probably did not have the correct BBQ sauce from the kitchen and next time, my daughter said she would order it plain and add one of the 2 gluten free bbq sauces at the table as the waitress clearly understood the order but... someone else delivered it from the kitchen and we think that is where the disconnect happened. As it is a medical condition, our daughter did not feel better until noon the next day.

The rest of us had the pork special and had wonderful, tasty and generous servings so much that we took food home! This is a peanuts on the floor place which is fun. The food came out in good time without a large wait.

We talked our daughter into going again, this time everything went great and her gluten free option WAS gluten free. My trout was a large, full, perfectly cooked entree. My husband's elk burger was tasty and enjoyable. Best of all the prices were reasonable, service was good and the food was hot and arrived in a good interval. Drinks were refilled and we enjoyed our meal. We had a quieter dining the 2nd time as we ate around 5 pm. Later, we noticed people waiting on the boardwalk as this is a popular restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, CO
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good place for breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I would say this place is more good than average. We have eaten here numerous times and enjoy the breakfast. The portions are large and the food always comes out hot. The frustration is that there always seems to be a lot of staff, but you are always waiting for drink refills or you can't get anyone's attention if you need something. This morning our waiter was taking care of six tables, the bar and helping with a takeout order, while 3 other employees stood and talked. If the service was better my rating would have been higher.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sagebrush BBQ & Grill also viewed

Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 
Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 

Been to Sagebrush BBQ & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sagebrush BBQ & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.