We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing BBQ!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sagebrush BBQ & Grill

Sagebrush BBQ & Grill
1101 Grand Avenue, Grand Lake, CO 80447
+1 970-627-1404
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 31 Restaurants in Grand Lake
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Not Just Great BBQ. Sandwiches, fish, chicken, veggie dishes, Gluten-free menu. Full bar. Family friendly. Just throw the peanuts on the floor.
Byers, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing BBQ!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Hands down best bbq I've had....even beats Famous Daves & Jim N' Nicks! Grab your friends & head down the boardwalk to have an ice cold beer & peanuts (throw the shells on the floor) while waiting for your lunch/dinner! Awesome bbq mustard...should bottle that up & sell it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    166
    57
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I like this place. What you see is what you get.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The pulled pork is great. You get a ton of food and it is always good. The service is quick and it is a good place to take the kids. Kind of a no-nonsense air about it- if you need a refill don't be shy, wave down your waitress and let your needs be known. Sometimes you feel invisible so stand up for your rights as a patron. Shouldn't be that way but I'm just giving you a heads up because being polite doesn't always cut it here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne, TX
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Reasonable prices and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We ate here twice during our stay. Although the prices are above average, maybe appropriate for this town. Food was above average.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Lake, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not As Promised”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

As Grand Lake residents, we’ve eaten here several times. The atmosphere is rather shabby, even for a BBQ joint that’s located in a building left over from the 19th century. Perhaps our atmosphere turnoff is due to the fact we’re not fans of peanut shells underfoot. What made us cross this restaurant completely off our list was the night we ordered the special of what we were told was BBQ pork, which unfortunately, turned out to be large ham slices best described as tough and tasteless. Try a few of the better restaurants across the street.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Left standing - it was like we were invisible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I usually go by reviews when I can but this time I didn't have an internet connection so was seeking something to eat blind.
My hubby and I were on the first day of our holiday and we were looking for BBQ or Pulled pork in particular as we found it on an earlier trip to the states and were looking to repeat the good experience so the Sagebrush looked to be the perfect choice.

However having seen the many good reviews for this place now that we are back all I can think is they must have been having a really bad day when we arrived as we were ignored completely!

After standing in the queue to be served for some time we left and ended up over the road in Max and T's where we found the pulled pork we were looking for and we had a most enjoyable lunch so the rudeness we experienced at the Sagebrush did us a favour as the food over the road was excellent and reasonably priced.

Just goes to show you have to try these places for yourself as you cant always rely on the reviews

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sagebrush BBQ & Grill also viewed

Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 
Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 

Been to Sagebrush BBQ & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sagebrush BBQ & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.