We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific steaks and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Backstreet Steakhouse

Backstreet Steakhouse
604 Marina Drive, Grand Lake, CO 80447
+1 970-627-8144
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 31 Restaurants in Grand Lake
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Wishing you a warm welcome to Winter at the Lake! Carey has changed up the menu with a few new "seasonal items" while keeping many of our local favorites. New this winter are Fish-N-Chips, Buffalo Pasta and Tender Tonahutu Pork. So far a big thumbs up on all three new items! Carey & Kathleen St. Clair (formerly from Caroline's) will be cooking up the winter menu. Greeting you out front this year will be Patrick, Kathy, Jeanie, Greg and Buddie...We are happy to take good care of you, your family and friends. FOR THE TRUE SPIRIT OF THE HOLIDAYS, PLEASE BE SURE TO STOP IN & CHECK OUT CAREY'S HOLIDAY DECORATIONS VOTED: "BEST IN GRAND COUNTY"!! And "BEST STEAKHOUSE" IN GRAND COUNTY BY THE SKY HI NEWS LOCAL "BEST OF " POLL. Please stop by for a hot toddy and a warm bite. We look forward to a fantastic season of winter wonder as the snow keeps falling and our town awakens to the magic of winter! Be sure to get out this season and support your local businesses. Best Wishes for a great new beginning in 2014!
North Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Terrific steaks and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

A Grand Lake local told us about this restaurant and it was terrific. A lot of Colorado mountain/tourist towns have very limited dining options and this was a surprise - wonderful service from Caroline and a steak as good as any we've ever had, even at $$$$ Dallas steakhouses. The salad was fresh, crisp, perfectly dressed and delicious. Yes, it's fairly expensive, but with food this good, it's worth every penny - very hard to beat a perfect steak and nice glass of wine as the sun goes down and the air cools on an August evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    6
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“VERY expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Nice atmosphere but very slow service waiting for drinks and then waiting for food and then waiting for bill. My husband had meatloaf and it was very good. I had chicken and it was fair. Granddaughter had mac and cheese and she loved it.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and Entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The food at the Backstreet is very high quality with a good variety of dishes. There was a band there that night on the back patio/lawn that was excellent and it looked like the owner brings in musicians regularly. It got crowded in a hurry and there was some complaining about slow service. From what I saw the wait staff were working their tails off and the bartender pitched in to try to reduce the delays as much as he could. We just relaxed, got our food and drinks in reasonable time, and had a great evening.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best meal of the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We went in July over the 4th holiday. We went in during the day and got a reservation with no problem. We had eaten at a couple of very good places in town and then we're blown away by the greatness of this restaurants food and staff. Everyone in our party left very happy with their meal and overall experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious Meal, Delightful Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We returned to Grand Lake after too long an absence and opted to dine at Daven Haven's Backstreet Steakhouse, a past favorite. To our delight we found the food, drink, service and ambience 5 Star.

We were greeted by soft spoken host Greg Barnes, served by Shannon; our drinks were delivered by personable Patrick Barnes. Chef Adam. Who we met in person after our meal, lived up to his gourmand reputation. We had his signature mushroom soup as appetizer and split an order of pan fried trout topped with a remarkable lightly spicy Thai topping; our guest enjoyed pork riblets and a twice baked potato. Our server was prompt, courteous and exacting.

The dining room, separate bar and facilities are beautifully furnished. Our corner table was perfect.
Our only concern was the absence of the owner's signature Jack Daniels Pork Chops from the current menu. Chef Adam is mulling this over and we dream of the return of that Award Winning though rich offering. Regardless we shall return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backstreet Steakhouse also viewed

Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 
Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 

Been to Backstreet Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backstreet Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.