We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Backstreet Steakhouse

Backstreet Steakhouse
604 Marina Drive, Grand Lake, CO 80447
+1 970-627-8144
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 31 Restaurants in Grand Lake
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Wishing you a warm welcome to Winter at the Lake! Carey has changed up the menu with a few new "seasonal items" while keeping many of our local favorites. New this winter are Fish-N-Chips, Buffalo Pasta and Tender Tonahutu Pork. So far a big thumbs up on all three new items! Carey & Kathleen St. Clair (formerly from Caroline's) will be cooking up the winter menu. Greeting you out front this year will be Patrick, Kathy, Jeanie, Greg and Buddie...We are happy to take good care of you, your family and friends. FOR THE TRUE SPIRIT OF THE HOLIDAYS, PLEASE BE SURE TO STOP IN & CHECK OUT CAREY'S HOLIDAY DECORATIONS VOTED: "BEST IN GRAND COUNTY"!! And "BEST STEAKHOUSE" IN GRAND COUNTY BY THE SKY HI NEWS LOCAL "BEST OF " POLL. Please stop by for a hot toddy and a warm bite. We look forward to a fantastic season of winter wonder as the snow keeps falling and our town awakens to the magic of winter! Be sure to get out this season and support your local businesses. Best Wishes for a great new beginning in 2014!
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Tough to say if I'm somewhat nostalgic on this one. We always have a great time and have come back here year in and year out for New Year's Eve dinner. Whole family enjoys the menu and they've kept it very consistent. Pricing doesn't change year after year and the menu is always a nice selection. Grand Lake doesn't have a ton of choices, but regardless, we've always really had a good time here. If I took the food on its merits...it's pretty good. Bigger city with more competition, they might be in trouble but if you want a good meal, nice people and a good time, it's worth the visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    6
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great out of the way restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Really charming rustic spot. Great service, good food. They were out of some things. like lemon for the water. Seemed like they would be well stocked for Saturday night, but the food was delicious.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Welcome Experience After a Day of Traveling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

After traveling for nearly 10 hours, we were in need of a good meal. The Backstreet Steakhouse did not disappoint.

We arrived just before they were scheduled to close but accepted our group of 10 without any problems. Service was great as was the salad we had prior to the arrival of our entree. I seem to recall that most of us had the filet and we were more than happy with our choice.

All that plus a good bartender and a more than adequate wine selection resulting in a great dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Mixed review...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Visited on a quiet evening for a special celebration dinner. Atmosphere very nice as always. Waitress had a great attitude. Special appetizer (chorizo-stuffed mushrooms) was fantastic, especially the sauce drizzled on top. Special dinner (meat loaf, believe it or not) was excellent (with another great sauce). But the elk medallions were a HUGE disappointment. We splurged at $34 for this entree, but the three very small pieces of meat - even cooked (too) rare - were extremely tough... & they were NOT medallions. (We eat a lot of wild game & know what we're talking about.) The side dishes (mashed potatoes, broccoli) were good, tho nothing special, & very small helpings. The chocolate cake was also small, & mediocre at best. What really tipped the scales on the negative side for us was what I can only call stinginess. With meals this expensive it borders on rude to charge extra ($3) for bread... & 50c for bleu cheese salad dressing... & another up-charge for taking our dessert to go. Really?! So... I wish the "overall rating" section had a "good / bad" category.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Labor Day get away with the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This place is a hidden gem. After finding the location, which was a little harder than I anticipated. It was well worth with. They do hands down serve the best steak in grand lake. Our steak dinner was so fantastic that we returned the following night for the Sunday special, Fried Chicken and let me tell you. It was awesome. We had our three girls with us and they loved the bow tie pasta and the kids London broil. This restaurant is well worth the search and we will defenetly return next year. This is a must go place if you are visiting the grand lake area..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backstreet Steakhouse also viewed

Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 
Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 

Been to Backstreet Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backstreet Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.