We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food properly prepared” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daven Haven Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Daven Haven Lodge
604 Marina Drive, Grand Lake, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 31 Restaurants in Grand Lake
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Fort Morgan, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food properly prepared”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We chose this restaurant because of the cabins. We wanted a place to stay where we could walk back to our room/cabin from a nice meal out. I found the restaurant first on the chamber of commerce web site and then found the cabin from there. The meal was delicious - we had steak. The vegetables were fresh and the meat was cooked perfectly. The wait staff was awesome and the atmosphere very pleasant. We felt it was a little expensive for what we were getting, however, the food that we ordered was prepared very well. We would probably go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granby, Colorado
1 review
“Best Restaurant In Grand Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We have been going to the Daven Haven (Back Street Steakhouse) for 27 years now. We love the Friday nite all you can eat shrimp, plus the steaks and prime rib are wonderful. We have known the owners Greg and Carrie, sons Patrick and Dustin for years. The staff always welcomes you and makes you feel special. If you haven't seen this restaurant you need to stop in and see how Carrie always has it decorated for every season. We had our sons wedding rehersal dinner and it was wonderful. The dinner was great, and guests talked about how good it was for days. Carrie did an exceptional job decorating and hosting the event along with her wonderful staff. They not only have wonderful meals, but also have lodging for you to stay while you are visiting Grand Lake. My husband and family say this is THE BEST RESTAURANT IN GRAND LAKE.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“2 different experiences in one week”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I ate here one night and it was wonderful. Came back 3 nights later with friends and it was horrible. We will see on our next visit to Grand Lake if we venture to try it again. Very expensive for the portions you get. I dont mind paying for good food, but the second trip was very dissappointing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spicewood, TX
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“What a fine little cabin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed in the Wildwood Cabins section of their property.

The Birch Cabin was rustic, well-appointed and clean, and an easy walk to the main drag.

The staff were all engaging and made me feel special.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Heard about this place from some other visitors to the area so we made reservations and had dinner there. Food was average when compared to other venues in the area, e.g. The Rapids but the setting is nice with some expansive outdoor seating and live entertainment.

We didn't have any of their steaks but did hear that they were good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daven Haven Lodge also viewed

Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 
Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 

Been to Daven Haven Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daven Haven Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.