We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“experienced traveler top10 worse experiences” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Lakes Lodge

Save Saved
You added Mountain Lakes Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Lakes Lodge
10480 US Highway 34, Grand Lake, CO 80447-0160   |  
Hotel amenities
florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“experienced traveler top10 worse experiences”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Totally misrepresented on the internet by description and photos. Upon arrival and realizing this, we asked to see the room and were told "Sure,but its not going to get your money back "under those circumstances we stayed one night and went to check out the next morning and were told,"since we had made reservations for two nights...they could not refund our money because of a two night minimum, even though another party came and went during the night. We ended up paying for two nights lodging in a place we didnt wish to stay at all.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLLMGMT, General Manager at Mountain Lakes Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Our website shows an un-embellished video of our cabins. They are clearly viewable and accurately described. When you arrive, your cabin looks exactly like the video.

While I cannot account for the conversation mentioned in the review, we do have a policy of; "Two nights required for an advance reservation" We do accommodate overnight travelers on a walk in basis when availability allows. It is our hope that all who stay at Mountain Lakes Lodge have an enjoyable visit and I regret that this patron did not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    17
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
25
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

We never intended to stay in the Grand Lake area, but it was late, etc, etc.. A wonderful surprise to find such hospitality so close to Rocky Mountain National Park. This visit was our 4th, and this time we brought our daughter. We hiked, ate, spent time with the managers, had dinner out with the managers, and had just a great time. Pet friendly is a plus even though we didn't bring any of of 4 dogs. And we are due back in November 2009!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casper
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

Great getaway! The rates are afforadable, cabin was clean, quaint and the bed was comfortable. We visited other travelers around the evening campfire. Paul recommended chicken from Betty's Cafe to take through the Park. We had a great picnic watching elk, moose and fox in lovely park surroundings.
Kelly & Curtis Clamp

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

Rustic cabins, well stocked kitchen, close to Beacon Landing Marina. You can walk to the lake. Owners go out of their way to be helpful and friendly. This was our second time staying here and will be back again. We stayed at the North Shore Lodge down by the lake and highly recommend it. Close to Grand Lake, Rocky Mountain National Park.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

This is a perfect getaway from the city. Close to all lakes, Rocky Mountain National Park, etc. Great golf and ski packages. I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

If you are looking for a boxy, standard hotel room with predictable furniture that often exists in a large city with a view of other boxy hotels than you dont want to stay here! However, if you are looking for a clean, family friendly place with breath taking views that will help you experience a vacation that feels like home away from home than I totally recommend this place.

My wife is particular about clean, crisp kind of rooms so I always worry when I book places that appear to have character to them. This place was perfect for both of us and our 10 year old son. We will be back and will likely try out other of their rooms/cabins.

I have to say that as a person who takes care of my own conference center in Iowa I fully understand what really makes Mountain Lakes Lodge a great place to stay -- Its the people who take care of it. The owners of this place are authentic and friendly as the fire ring in the middle of the cabins. You just feel like family. When my son wanted to fish in the stream behind the cabins and I asked if he had any poles to rent he said, "Nope but I have some you can just use . . ." I cant say that we caught many fish but that simple gift of a pole help me make some great memories with my son.

  • Liked — Home like feel!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver co
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

my family (3 young boys!) loved Mountain Lakes Lodge. It is rustic and charming -- the exact type of place you would go if you want to be in the mountains. The fishing was fantastic and literally right out the back door - the kids stood out there all day and coudl run back inside if they needed anything (they were outside witht heir dad and I was able to have some quiet time reading by myslef in the cabin - heaven!)
Each cabin is deocrated with a mountain theme and maintained very well.
Paul & Rebecca (I think are the owners) and their family run the place and were quick to address any of our concerns. All in all, a great value for a family mountain vacation

  • Liked — nearness to fishing
  • Disliked — not walking distance to the town of grand lake
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Lakes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lakes Lodge

Address: 10480 US Highway 34, Grand Lake, CO 80447-0160
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Lakes Lodge has fun, rustic, Grand Lake-themed rooms with kitchenettes. Kitchenettes are stocked with basic cook ware and dining ware. Each unit has a 3/4 bath and all linens are included. We are pet-friendly (fee applies)and have great access to walking trails. Outdoor amenities include BBQs, picnic tables, fire-pits and games. This is a fantastic place for Family Reunions!Located on the Lake Granby-Shadow Mountain Canal, there is great fishing steps from your door all year. We're 6mi. from RMNP, 5mi. from Grand Lake Village, 2mi from Arapaho National Forest, 10mi. from Granby, 15mi. from Ski/Bike/Golf GRANBY RANCH, 20mi. from Hot Sulphur Springs. Near restaurants,snowmobiling, hiking, marinas, golf, horseback riding, shopping, wildlife viewing and much more. Snowshoe rental available on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Mountain Lakes Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lakes Hotel Grand Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Lakes Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.