We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Lakes Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mountain Lakes Lodge to your Saves list
Mountain Lakes Lodge
10480 US Highway 34, Grand Lake, CO 80447-0160   |  
Hotel amenities
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
“Peaceful Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay in the Bear Collector Cabin. It was cozy and warm with a spectacular view of the winding river and valley. The sunsets in the morning were incredible and the stars at night were amazing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They even provided us with shampoo and a hairdryer that we forgot to bring. We will definitely return and look forward to next year's peaceful getaway!

Room Tip: I would recommend upgrading to a larger cabin if you have more than 2 guests or need more than a sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    19
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
27
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I was a bit put off by the negative reviews from a couple of summers ago but the lodge now has new owners and WOW! They have done an amazing job! The couple that run this, Doug and Edy were super helpful, answering all my questions and ensuring that my stay there was as relaxing and idyllic as I wanted. I liked that all the different rooms/cabins were different and came with all the amenities I expected, even wi-fi and satellite tv!!!
I thought the price was very reasonable, the location was awesome and I will definitely stay there next time I am in the area!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLLMGMT, General Manager at Mountain Lakes Lodge, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
We loved having you and appreciate you taking the time to let others know what a great place this is!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Extremely dog friendly! Small fenced in backyards. Canal nearby, campfires. Cute cabins at an affordable price.

Room Tip: Ask about theme styled cabins
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLLMGMT, General Manager at Mountain Lakes Lodge, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We very much enjoyed sitting around the campfire at night and being able to walk our dogs along the canal daily. Very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

When I arrived I pulled back the bed sheets in the North Shore Lodge room. It had short black hairs about 2 inches long in quite a few places. When I got ready for bed at night, hIsaw long black hairs, gross!

At night our friends were going to bake a few cookies. Check this out, the large pizza pan (no baking sheet provided ) would not fit in the oven. So they removed the cookie dough and put it on a casserole dish. A pizza pan that is too large for the oven! Door wouldn't shut.

The place is pretty run down, way over priced. Do yourself a favor and drive up to Grand Lakes.

Oh, and there are beat up trailers next to it, run down trailer park.

The lake is pretty enough, minus the run down lodge and trailers.

You also get charged $25 if you don't remove your waste basket trash. So what do you get for $200 a night??? They won't even dump the trash for you!!!

It was very cold too, and this stay was in July!

I rarely write a review, unless it is positive. However, I want to protect fellow travelers!

P.S. Wifi did not work.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLLMGMT, Manager at Mountain Lakes Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Probably 80% of our business consists of guests traveling with their dogs. We are often praised for having a place where that is not evident. As any pet owner will tell you, it is impossible to remove 100% of the hair. We sincerely apologize that you encountered some and would have gladly remedied the situation if notified.

We do not provide bake ware in the units, but we do have everything you would need upon request. It is delivered to your door, usually within 10 minutes of your call. The “pizza pan” your friend tried to use, was not bake ware at all: It is a metal serving tray put in the unit for the convenience of guests who wish to BBQ on our outside grills and need to carry food down to do so. That is why it didn’t fit in the oven.

We agree that the lodge needs some continuing TLC. After two microbursts in Grand Lake this summer, there was damage to the building that moved “exterior paint” to the top of our list. I’m sure you would not have wanted us to set scaffolding up outside your window, and the same is true of the guests who were ahead of you. We will be working on the exterior during the small window of opportunity we have this fall. We are always making improvements throughout both properties, but have to choose our timing carefully.

These are “Housekeeping Cabins” which means guests need to do their dishes and take their trash out. This is stated clearly whether you book on-line, through us or are a walk-in. With a very small staff (only two of us for all but June, July and ½ of August, when we have part-time help) and accommodations for 110 people, it is sometimes 2-3 days before we can clean a unit. A sink full of dishes or a trashcan left full of diapers or cantaloupe can cause lingering odors for days and invite wildlife into our units. It is unfortunate that some guests need the added incentive of a fee, but we have never charged anyone who has at least made an effort.

Our WiFi does work: I used it in the laundry room (center of the building) the day you checked in. It is sometimes unreliable in the east end of the building. We have spent hundreds of dollars this summer trying to optimize our WiFi coverage and will continue to work on it until we’re satisfied. It does sometimes have to be reset, and again, that can be done with a simple phone call to the office.

If you were charged $200/night, please contact your credit card company immediately! On our end, we only charged you $129/night plus tax.

What do you get for your money? Do you mean besides access to about $2 million dollars of property? Please consider this your official invitation to find out: Please join my husband and I on one of our 14 hour days of cleaning, laundry, phones, questions, bookings, bookkeeping, chopping (free) firewood, hauling propane cylinders (free BBQ gas), untangling loaner fishing poles, repairing quilts, shampooing carpets, remodeling units, buying supplies, updating the website, repairing plumbing and electrical, lawn care, mailing out items guests left behind and much, much, much more. We have only had a combined total of eight days off in the last eight months, so I’m sure we can accommodate your schedule. We’ll even pay for your stay, at a different lodge of course. (Our choice)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSoto, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

When we first drove up we thought it might be a little more "rustic" than we had anticipated, but quickly found that the unit was very clean, bed very comfortable and staff VERY helpful. The kitchen area was small, but had all we needed to make basic meals. Gas grills are available for grilling, fire pits were lit each night and there are swings behind each unit. We usually sat behind the unit each night just enjoying the view of the mountains.

Other details - it's about 4 miles into Grand Lake to a local grocer, or about 15 into Granby to a City Market. (For those coming from somewhere outside Colorado - it's a large grocery affiliated with Krogers.) It's note far at all to Rocky Mountain National Park (Go early - beat the crowds and see critters!) Arapaho National Forest is nearby as well.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the the "Gone Fishing" cabin and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

First of all, there are 2 locations...I didn't get this until we got there. There are cabins right by the office, therefore by the "canal" for fishing, etc. And then there are the cabins at the "lodge", about a mile up the road. These are right on the lake. There is a long shared deck that runs across the back of the lodge.The lodge is actually closer to Grand Lake than the town of Granby.
We stayed at the lodge, about 6 sets of accomodations on the North shore of the lake. We had the 1-bedroom cabin. It was very basic, and just a little small...but you do not stay in your cabin all day anyway...not with this scenery! It was very clean. Had a comfortable bed with great pillows! I loved all the storage space in the bathroom. They gave us plenty of towels for our 3-night stay. We had kids with us, so we used the "murphy bed" in the living room. They thought that was the funniest thing! The murphy bed was a little wobbly and a tad squeaky, but that added to the fun! We also had a sofa in the living room. Excellent TV reception. Yes, the dishes in the kitchen are a little old and mismatched, but then I'm not a master chef anyway, so it's OK! There was a volleyball and net in the yard, bocce ball game, horseshoes, a rickety dock to fish from, several barbeque grills, lots of chairs and swings, a couple hammocks, and incredible scenery. We heard a little noise from the room next door, and not too bad. Owners were very nice and very helpful. We had to call them once when the office was closed, they were there within a minute. Only downside was, we could get NO internet while we were there, but it was available down at the office, even by parking outside the door before they were open. We had a great time, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Lakes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lakes Lodge

Address: 10480 US Highway 34, Grand Lake, CO 80447-0160
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Lakes Lodge has fun, rustic, Grand Lake-themed rooms with kitchenettes. Kitchenettes are stocked with basic cook ware and dining ware. Each unit has a 3/4 bath and all linens are included. We are pet-friendly (fee applies)and have great access to walking trails. Outdoor amenities include BBQs, picnic tables, fire-pits and games. This is a fantastic place for Family Reunions!Located on the Lake Granby-Shadow Mountain Canal, there is great fishing steps from your door all year. We're 6mi. from RMNP, 5mi. from Grand Lake Village, 2mi from Arapaho National Forest, 10mi. from Granby, 15mi. from Ski/Bike/Golf GRANBY RANCH, 20mi. from Hot Sulphur Springs. Near restaurants,snowmobiling, hiking, marinas, golf, horseback riding, shopping, wildlife viewing and much more. Snowshoe rental available on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Mountain Lakes Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lakes Hotel Grand Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Lakes Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.