We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winding River Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winding River Resort
Save
You added Winding River Resort to your Saves list
County Road 491, Box 629, Grand Lake, CO 80447   |  
Hotel amenities
denver
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a fantastic park. The RV spots in the back have no concrete pads, so it can get muddy when it rains. If you have a horse this is a great place for them and you. We rode ATV's - available right at the resort. A great little zoo for the kids, too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    9
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
19
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed with folks in their motorhome during Labor Day weekend this year and in a cabin Memorial Day weekend over a year ago. This compound has a small general store, clean shower buildings, horse back riding, playgrounds for the kids and miscellaneous activities. It is located just across the river from the west side of Rocky Mountain NP so there are a bunch of hiking trails nearby (if that's your thing, it is definitely mine). The cabin we stayed in last year were very basic but served our needs. Our family likes to stay here so I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent a week at Winding River Resort with our two personal horses. The riding is amazing. The campground is nice, clean with not much leveling needed. The horse pens are nice and large. We cannot say enough good things about this place. All the employees were friendly and very helpful. The amount of moose, elk, deer, etc was unbelievable. The place is very nice for families with lots of activities to do. The towns of Grand Lake and Granby are very nice and an easy drive to grab something to eat or do some shopping. The fireworks over the lake are gorgeous.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAVERTOWN PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed in a cabin the last couple nights of our trip after traveling all over the state. Great place to relax and unwind. Kids loved petting the animals, throwing rocks in the river, the pancake breakfasts on the weekend were fun, and taking the 2 hour trail ride into RMNP, the first horse ride for the boys, was a hi-lite of the trip. Enjoyed walking outside and seeing so many stars, then waking up in the morning and seeing the clouds hanging over the mountains. Cowboy church outside was nice too.After not seeing many elk in RMNP, came back our last night and a herd was right along the road to Winding River, a moose and calf came through the prior night and my son spotted a bald eagle zooming over the camp. Easy run to Grand Lake for supplies or a meal if you need it.

some of the sites for RV's are right next to the cabins, so a little noise from that, but nothing major.
Everyone who works there was extremely friendly, and we wished we had more time there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Best ever camping experience! Awesome service, clean restrooms, friendly staff and campers. Great location for free outdoor activities - running, hiking, biking, kayaking and swimming. We did not want to leave! Go during the week if u can. Gets a little crowded during the weekend rush in the summer. Definitely coming back. Would live here if we could!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We have camped here rv here and stayed in Winchester cabin and love it!! We loved the cabin the kids can run out the front door and play its decorated beautifully the people who run the barn are friendly and I think they even have a way to "send in the moose!" Low it here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Just returned home from Winding River Resort. We stayed two nights in a non-utility tent site. The site was very roomy, could have easily put up two tents. The restroom and showers were clean and only a short walk away. Everyone was well behaved and quiet hours were followed. Seemed like there were plenty of activities, though we did not partake. The little shop had reasonably priced firewood and ice. Only two minor complaints... I wish there was more shade and I wish that the horses would wear those bags like they do in parades (you get the picture).

Keep the camera close...A moose walked past us as we were heading into the property.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winding River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winding River Resort

Address: County Road 491, Box 629, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Grand Lake
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Winding River Hotel Rocky Mountain National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winding River Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.