We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Creek Campground and RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elk Creek Campground and RV Park
Save Saved
You added Elk Creek Campground and RV Park to your Saves list
143 County Road 48, Grand Lake, CO 80447   |  
Hotel amenities
Fincastle, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Hands down one of the best campground camping experiences I have had. Neat as a pin, quiet and the staff is beyond friendly and accommodating. The common areas are all well maintained and super clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    6
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
23
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

After camping across the western US for 20 years, I would rank this as my 2nd favorite campground. The property is adjacent to the national park. The sites are natural and moose frequent the campsites. We had a bull moose 15 feet behind the camper when I woke up. Because the campground is built into a hill, you should be explicit with your needs when you book. Some sites are more private, some long, some grassy. They had rigs from 10 foot trailers to bus size motorhomes on the hill.
The bathrooms are spotless, the showers are large, The camp store is well stocked with reasonable prices. Coffee is ready in the morning. Our daughter loved the playground. My wife used the wifi to do a college class. The owners are friendly and helpful.
If you choose to go to the shopping area of Grand Lake, It is about a three minute drive.
We have found our Rocky Mountain area campground.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were very impressed with the facilities - nice, clean shower house, well-maintained campsites. We tent-camped at Elk Creek and would definitely go back. The tent sites are tucked across the stream. You park and carry in 10-50 yards over little bridges. The owners are very nice and helpful. The location is an outstanding staging ground for the Rocky Mountain National Park - Driving the pass, by the way, is a truly awesome experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Love this place! We have been back twice. The cabins are clean and good sized with electricity. The shower/laundry facility is clean and nice, always had hot water. There are grills, game room and playground. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: I recommend the cabins! If you tent camp there are lot of animals around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We recently spent a week at Elk Creek Lodge. What a little bit of heaven. After a day of sightseeing it was so relaxing to come home to our cabin, relax on our patio, and enjoy the cool climate. The staff was always concerned about our comfort. The roaming wild turkeys really added to the ambiance! We had a most wonderful vacation and Elk Creek lodge contributed to our most excellent trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We camped here recently and really fell in love with the location and layout of the campground. The staff were friendly and helpful and available when needed. There is a small store, media room with couches and an arcade room. The bathrooms and showers were clean and bright. There is a laundry available if needed. The location is ideal for exploring the tiny town of Grand Lake and there are plenty of hiking and fishing options very nearby.

The only downside was the internet access which is not a problem for us (if you are traveling/working you'll probably have your own set up).

Room Tip: We parked our travel trailer at site #9 and were very happy with the tiny creek along one side and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Kansas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My family loves the Elk Creek Campground! The new owners have done a fabulous job of cleaning up the overgrown shrubs and trees. The new bathrooms are awesome! This was our second stay and we will definitely return.

Grand Lake is definitely the quieter side of RMNP. We drove the pass a few times to Estes Park and we're overwhelmed at the number of people. The town might be quieter but still offers shopping and nice places to dine. Elk Creek blends beautifully with the park and access is literally a mile away.

Don, Rebecca and their children are doing a great job. They are from the area and can make some wonderful suggestions for activities, restaurants, etc. Their son even went to our camper during a storm and helped with our awning.

We can't wait for our next stay!

Room Tip: Make your reservations as early as possible. This is a very popular campground!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elk Creek Campground and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Creek Campground and RV Park

Address: 143 County Road 48, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Grand Lake
Also Known As:
Elk Creek Campground And Rv Park Hotel Rocky Mountain National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Creek Campground and RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.