We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gateway Inn to your Saves list
Gateway Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West Portal Road, P.O. Box 1169, Grand Lake, CO 80447   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at the Gateway Inn during our first stay in Grand Lake. The atmosphere of the hotel was really cute--western mountain lodge style. The hotel bar was handy but filled up rather quickly on the weekend and we had to sit outside. We had the "mountain" room view and could see the mountains and the lake--I guess we were lucky! We would stay here again when we come back.

Room Tip: We asked to be located away from the outdoor patio area so there woudn't be as much noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shadowks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a very nice local hotel that can easily compete with the "big guys." The room was clean, a nice size, comfortable beds, and nicely appointed. The exercise room was adequate, and staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EricandVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, VA.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The room was very large, decorated with unique furnishings (bed and furniture made out of logs) and was comfortable and clean. We supposedly had a room with a lake view, but it was pretty well obstructed. The location was good, close to town but not in the center of everything, so you do have to drive. Wi-Fi connection was good. The service at the front desk was not good...often times no one was there. They had an outdoor hot tub which we did not get to use but I wish we had--it looked nice! Overall it was a good value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Only stayed for one night but very impressive. Looked at all the other places in town and this was hands down. A plus was the happy hour $1.75 beer and bar food out on an incredible deck.. Room was very interesting. A guy place. Expected at any moment a moose to walk through. The TV did not work for the day we got there but magic worked the next morning.The desk clerk was a jerk but hey all we wanted was a room.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the view from your room the deck is open 24/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Gateway Inn provided us with a comfortable room in a convenient location close to the west entrance to RMNP. The room was spotless, the staff friendly, the bed comfortable and the price was reasonable for a resort area.The inn has a charming log cabin feel and it was the perfect setting to start off my vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PittsburghPhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great location very close to RMNP. Booked at short notice and more than happy with 1st floor room with balcony. The room was spotlessly clean with a TV, refrigerator and a very comfortable rustic king size bed. Staff friendly and helpful with excellent suggestion for dinner in town at the Sage Brush. No breakfast available but close enough to town so not a problem. Would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: !st floor room with balcony overlooking the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCakeLady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with colleagues last week. It was an excellent experience. The rooms are rustic as is the hotel. The beds and furniture are logs cut to size and sanded - super sturdy and comfortable.

The room was clean with a TV and refrigerator but fairly minimalist - nevertheless I fully enjoyed and will return. Homey and informal atmosphere and the staff is friendly, professional, and accommodating. I will stay again and I recommend the facility - good location and comfortable and clean rooms. All my colleague liked the place as well and there were 9 of us.

I say give them a shot as especially in that area you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bringstheeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
13.1 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#4 of 9 in Granby
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
18.5 mi away
Wild Horse Inn
Wild Horse Inn
#1 of 3 in Fraser
5.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.7 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
0.4 mi away
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
#11 of 19 in Grand Lake
3.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Address: 200 West Portal Road, P.O. Box 1169, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Inn is situated along a national scenic byway, 1 mile from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and the charming unspoiled village of Grand Lake. Our spacious & comfortable rooms are furnished in beautiful hand made log furniture with recently purchased upgraded mattresses and bedding to ensure a great night of rest. Guest rooms are equipped with A/C, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, and flat screen satellite TVs. Our amenities include a lounge with shuffleboard, a full bar, and a total body fitness center including sauna, hot tub, weight room, and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Grand Lake
Gateway Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing