We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Place Is Now Called Soda Springs Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Lake Brewing Taphouse - CLOSED

Grand Lake Brewing Taphouse
9921 US Highway 34, Grand Lake, CO 80447
970-627-9404
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Masonville, CO
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“New Place Is Now Called Soda Springs Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We went here in early June expecting the Grand Lake Taphouse but Grand Lake Brewing closed in October 2013. It is now the Soda Springs Restaurant just opened by new owners, who are bringing back the more upscale tradition of the original Carolyn's Cuisine. Food was OK but pricey. We had a basic burger and fries, which listed for $15.00. A beer cost us $5.00 and when we inquired about a Happy Hour, we were told they don't have one. We were disappointed they didn't have any of the Grand Lake Brewing beers available but perhaps that will change over time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“New & interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This place is in what was once Caroline's Cuisine then the Grand Lake Brewing Company, several miles south of Grand Lake. We've been here for lunch & dinner, & they also do a Sunday brunch. The menu is limited ~ burgers & salads, a few upscale/different dinner entrees ~ but everything we've tried so far has been good. The butternut ravioli is very tasty, as is the strange little roasted beet & brussels sprout salad. We especially love the bacon wrapped dates appetizer (yes, they sound bizarre; but they're delicious!). Decent wine list & beer selection (tho they've been out of my husband's beer choice twice now). They need more wait staff but the folks they do have are friendly & efficient (the owner often helps out). Atmosphere is nice, not fancy: dining room, a bar with tables & a tv, & a small but pleasant outdoor seating area. Prices are high (in keeping with this touristy area) but we're grateful for something new in town. We'll go back for more.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious upscale food in grand lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

On your way into town (on left hand side of HWY 34) is a new restaurant definitely worth trying. We had the Mussels & Fries and the Hot wings...Both were delicious! The mussel broth warranted an extra side of bread and the wings were cooked to perfection with home-made sauces. The service is friendly and attentive. This would be considered more fine dining vs. a burger joint but well within budgets. They are the only restaurant to that serves till 10:00pm!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“They have a very good selection of beers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Grand Lake Brewing Company makes their own beer and have a dozen or more selections. Each one that I sampled was quite good. I found the Nut Brown Ale to be one of the best microbrews that I have tasted.

The young lady that served us was very polite and attentive.

The Tap House is no longer in Grand Lake, but several miles south of town on US Hwy 34.

"It's all downstream from here."

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good Food, Good Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We tried the strogonoff and the veal schnitzel this visit. Both were excellent. I had never had apple spice sauce with veal before and I liked the combination. I also enjoy the beers served by this micro-brewery. I have tried 4 so far. All good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Lake Brewing Taphouse also viewed

 
Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Lake Brewing Taphouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.