We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Beer & Appetizers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Lake Brewing Taphouse

Grand Lake Brewing Taphouse
9921 US Highway 34, Grand Lake, CO 80447
970-627-9404
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 31 Restaurants in Grand Lake
Restaurant details
Effingham, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Beer & Appetizers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

After staying in RMNP until after dark, we found the Taphouse in order to have a couple of drinks and appetizers. At that time it was not crowded so we just sat at the bar & talked with the bartender. The appetizers were good and came out promptly, and we have enjoyed their brews from past visits. (I recommend the Wooly Booger Nut Brown Ale and the White Cap Wheat.) We were a bit disappointed that they had moved from their more convenient former downtown location since our last visit a few years ago.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, CO
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Beer at 1 1/2 miles high”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Made reservations for 8, and needed to expand to 10, which didn't create a problem. Except, NOBODY seems to answer the phone during the day, and I had to walk in and make the reservations.
Wait staff initially did not want to separate checks, but eventually did. Drinks were timely served, and the meal a little slower, but all meals were served at the same time. Good effort.
The meals all tasted satisfactory, but the presentation was lacking. A pot pie in a large, white ramekin, all set upon a white dinner plate. No garnish. No "side." Just a barren ramekin on a barren plate. The pot pie was okay, but lacked green veggies.
My wife ordered the $12 Thai dinner salad. Said to be "spicy." It was served in a too-large white bowl, making the portion seem too small. Again, no side garnish such as crackers. Extra dressing was requested. Spicy must mean something different above 9,000 feet. Thanks to some nearby Sriracha sauce, she was able to spice it up.
The beers were okay, but seemed lacking in creativity or memorability.
If back in Grand Lake, I'd stop in for a beer an appetizer, and get dinner elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The place is way, way outside of town and it doubles as some sort of real estate office. We asked to sit on the balcony and the tables were covered with the carnage of past patrons. I'd read the reviews but thought that surely the proprietors aren't as bad as I'd read. I was wrong. This place is dirty. We ditched our plans to eat and just ordered beers. My glass had a dead fly crushed into it. We paid and left. BEWARE

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst Dining Experience We Can Remember”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I would not go back. Service was poor. The food was worse. The beer was fine and the view was lovely.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“decent beers and OK food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I love trying different beers. The beers here were good but lacked some pizazz. We had beers on 2 different occasions plus ate dinner there one night. I had the stroganoff and he had the Mediterranean pizza. Both were OK but nothing special. Service was decent considering that it was a very busy 4th of July weekend.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Lake Brewing Taphouse also viewed

 
Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 

Been to Grand Lake Brewing Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Lake Brewing Taphouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.