We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Food Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Betty's Cafe & Bakery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Betty's Cafe & Bakery
10658 Us Highway 34, Grand Lake, CO 80447-8605
970-627-1934
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 31 Restaurants in Grand Lake
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Diner
Restaurant details
Grand Lake
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Comfort Food Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Hearty, well prepared Home Cookin' I like some veggies with my traditional breakfast and they have a nice selection you can add to your Biscuits and Gravy or other dish. You can get cream gravy instead of green chili on your Breakfast Burrito if you want, too.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Do NOT Pass This By!! Delicious Chicken and Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

For many years we have been traveling to Grand Lake and passing by this place. I always noticed the "Fried Chicken to Go" sign in the window but we never stopped for some reason. Finally we decided to give it a try. Wow! Yes the chicken is a small spring chicken, but was delicious! We wanted to take a picnic into the park and ended up getting the chicken, mashed potatoes and a drink. The waiter gave us paper plates, napkins and utensils after hearing we were headed for a picnic. That was great service! The mashed potatoes were real and the cream gravy excellent! While we were waiting on the chicken, the waiter told us about the breakfast and the biscuits they serve.. He told us "it was like eating a cloud." So we decided to stop by for breakfast the next morning. I have to agree that those biscuits were the best ever and did taste like eating a cloud! My sister had a breakfast burrito that was excellent. My eggs were cooked to order, the hash browns and bacon done perfectly and oh that biscuit! The gravy is a ham gravy and I don't care for ham much. But this gravy was very flavorful, creamy and really didn't have too much ham in it. I can't wait to return again soon! If you are driving from Granby into Grand Lake, definitely stop here and grab a bite. You won't be sorry!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamosa, Colorado
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good chicken, but small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

It's now called Grand River Cafe.

We ordered the chicken and found out they only serve "spring chicken" so they are small, very small, but the flavor was very good. We got the 10 piece and it fed the two of us.

Another day we went in for lunch and enjoyed the fish and chips. It's less expensive than going into Grand Lake proper and they even have a decent selection of liquor too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Lake
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Small pieces of chicken with big flavor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The fried chicken here is remarkably flavorful and tasty. Unfortunately, the pieces are extremely small. To their credit, they do let you know that in advance so that you can order the larger package to make sure you have enough to feed everyone.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average. The place always has a "temporary" feel, like it might close tomorrow.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just average. Average prices, average food. Nice staff, plenty of parking. If you want breakfast this is one of the few GL places to get it. "I'll be having the average eggs and toast, please".

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Betty's Cafe & Bakery also viewed

Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 
Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 

Been to Betty's Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Betty's Cafe & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.