We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mis- represented sleeping arrangement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rapids Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rapids Lodge
210 Rapids La., Grand Lake, CO 80447   |  
Hotel amenities
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mis- represented sleeping arrangement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Booked "cabin" sleeps 4. Not really. Sleeps 2 average sized adults in double bed and a ratty old mattress on a futon big enough for 2 small children or an average adult.in living room. Property decimated by "BARK BEETLE" so all pretty trees gone. Get to look at dumpsters and gravel parking lots, trailers and propane tanks. Noisy location on corner of street. Illegal overnight parking of RV in town parking lot running their generators. No stream, no quiet, no a/c. PROs: Price was not high, very close to town, and great hiking trails. Good for active people not spending any time there. 2 overweight couples could NOT stay there comfortably. My wife made the arrangements-she "volunteered" to sleep on floor on a sleeping pad we bought at camping store in town. Front desk lady didn't seem to think there was a problem with it?

Room Tip: Ask about getting a real bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    34
    10
    5
    8
See reviews for
20
32
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Prospect, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed in Rapids condo 5. There are many lodging options here and its hard to visualize from the website. The front desk was very helpful in helping choose the best accommodations for us. You open your door to the sound of rapids rushing by! Very relaxing and clean condo. Nice restaurant too

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

The Rapids is a collection of lodge rooms, condos, and pet-friendly cabins. The rooms are well appointed for any season, and the river view condos offer a wonderful view. The location is can't be beat, as it is one block off the main street, two blocks from the beach, and backs up to the river which provides a relaxing setting for reading a book or just enjoying nature.

Room Tip: Book early for the best selection of rooms. Check out thier website for individual room description...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Stayed in the Never Summer cabin: great! Just what I wanted and expected. Dinner in the restaurant was fabulous; staff and owners fun and accommodating. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

When e-mailing with staff, I had a good experience with assistance in choosing a cabin for my husband and his parents to stay in during a visit to RMNP.

When I called to make the reservation, the man I spoke with was rude to me about the fact that I was not personally staying, but was making the reservation for someone else. He cut me off before I could even give him the name of the people who would be staying in the cabin. After asking to speak with someone else because I didn't like the way he was treating me, he said, "I'm the owner. Do you want the cabin or not!?"

I chose not to book this place since I got such terrible treatment when trying to book and pay for the cabin.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, CT
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Stayed in main lodge. Room and lodge western decor. Door did not fit the frame so there was a gap and you could see into room from hallway.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Cabins not in the lodge itself; we were not satisfied with the accomidations or the service. The cabins are the only place the Rapids allows dogs. The cabin we stayed in was so small that there was no room on the counter of the kitchenette for a microwave. The rooms were tiny and the chairs and table rickey. The table was too unstable to actually eat from. The shower was so tiny it was like having a shower in a phone booth. The plastic one piece shower surround was improperly installed and the grab rail unsafe. The bed was rock hard. They also informed us, after checking in, that they do not provide maid service at the cabins.
For the $140 a night (includes $20 per dog fee and tax) you can do much better in this very cute town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rapids Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rapids Lodge

Address: 210 Rapids La., Grand Lake, CO 80447
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Specialty lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Rapids Lodge and Restaurant (est. 1915) is located on the banks of the scenic and peaceful Tonahutu River in the town of Grand Lake. Known as "Grand Lake's Hidden Gem", we are just one short block from the end of main street in town (where all the shops are) and one short block from the lake. Most diverse accommodation in Grand Lake. Pet-friendly CABINS, RAPIDS SUITES (some pet-friendly), CONDOS (sleep up to 12) and LODGE GUEST ROOMS. The Rapids Restaurant is rated three diamond by AAA. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rapids Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rapids Lodge to your Saves list