We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, no pretentiousness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events to your Saves list
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   419 Garfield Street, PO Box 1286, Grand Lake, CO 80447   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$220 Couples Getaway
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Lake
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good room, no pretentiousness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

This review is for the "small lakefront cabin" room, not the motel rooms.

I really liked this place, my wife and I stayed here while attending a wedding in Grand Lake. The "cabin" label for this room is a bit misleading, as it was not a standalone structure but a row of 5 small rooms along a boardwalk style front walkway facing the lake. You are sharing walls with other guests, and I'm guessing they're fairly thin, but it wasn't a problem for us, the neighbors were very quiet. The view is simply unbeatable, you are maybe 50 feet back from the lake and waking up in the morning to the view and sounds of all the fun going on on the lake is invigorating. The room is almost comically small, think NYC hotel room, just enough space for the bed and a suitcase beside it, and that's all. Bathroom is equally tiny, but who goes to Grand Lake to hang out in the hotel room anyway? Everything was clean and comfortable, and it is steps away from Grand Lake downtown with all the restaurants and bars.

Hotel policy is 2-night stay minimum, but give them a call and they might be able to let you in for a single night, that's what happened to us. The lady at the front desk was very friendly, but obviously very busy and with no patience for prima-donna tourists and their demands. Treat her right and she will treat you right, just remember that this is a mountain cabin and not the Four Seasons.

They advertise wifi in every room but it wasn't working the night we were there and I suspect this isn't uncommon, the woman at the desk didn't seem like she would be excited to drop everything and troubleshoot your Internet problems. Relax and unplug for a few hours. Grab some breakfast at the Bluesomething bakery on Garfield, walk down and eat at one of the picnic tables by the lake, and you'll realize that all is right in the world.

We stayed here at the end of August when the outdoor temp was in the high 70's during the day. We didn't need to run either AC or heating during our stay and it was very pleasant. I'm not sure what it would be like in the winter though, the insulation on the building was definitely minimal from the looks of it, and it might be quite chilly during the winter. Just a guess though.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    38
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
39
45
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
longmont
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed there a couple of days ago with my grand children. It is an older hotel, nothing fancy but clean and in a great location. In town and on the lake. The woman at the front desk was very friendly and helpful! They also had a nice deck with patio furniture that was nice over looking the lake. I think the cost was high for the quality of the rooms, but again the location was good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hotel and cabins are located directly on Grand Lake with beautiful, unobstructed views and perfect access to the beach, lake and town of Grand Lake. There are boat rentals immediately available as well as a public beach and park. The cabins and rooms are spotless and the staff is extremely customer-friendly with good suggestions and ideas for local dining and activities. All of the employees are friendly and accommodating to guests. The barbecues are abundant and guests have a wide range of options between local dining and the full kitchens available in some rooms. The hotel and cabins are quiet at night while being very busy with lots of families visiting Grand Lake on a summer weekend. I have never seen so many people walking through a town enjoying ice cream! Western Riviera Lakeside Lodge is clearly the best place to stay in Grand Lake for regatta week at the Grand Lake Yacht Club or any other time during the year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I am one who will research on line but when it comes to making reservations, I make phone calls.

Last year, I probably made 10 calls to Western Riviera and to other businesses to confirm the information. We were not disappointed.

We came back this year. It was a last minute trip, and we really wanted to go back to Grand Lake. It is peaceful, and is our life style.

I called Western Riveria and they were able to accomodate us. We knew we wouldn't be disappointed. The staff on the phone and in person are very accomodating.

If you really want to be on the lake, then call Western Riviera. This was our main goal. The view is priceless. They deliver what they tell you. The staff is friendly and informative.

If you are like us, taking a vacation is a big deal. So where ever you want to go, call and ask questions so you won't be disappointed.

Grand Lake is a special place and Western Riviera gets that.

Room Tip: We have been there twice and both places where great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The best reason to stay at the Western Riviera is the location. Right on the beautiful lake and one block from downtown Grand Lake, which has all kinds of cool places to shop. Plenty of hiking nearby, and Rocky Mountain National Park. We had an upstairs room and it was very quiet and clean. There are chairs on the deck/walkway to sit and enjoy the view of the lake. They don't serve breakfast, but there is a bakery just around the corner where you can get breakfast sandwiches and pastries. The rooms are a little expensive, but you're paying for the location!

Room Tip: Pick an upstairs room for a better view and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I called and reserved a cabin for a week, then had to cancel because of work engagements. After I canceled I was able to make the trip out a few days later. I called what I thought was new condo we had rented closer to our friends, but had accidentally dialed Western Riviera. Tracy answered, and I started to talk about my reservation at the new condo. She told me it was the wrong place, and then said "YOU BLEW ME OFF!" Now there will no chance I will ever stay there &or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

What a wondeful vacation experieince! The staff was very helpful and ALWAYS friendly--even provided great recommendations for activities; as this was our first visit to Grand Lake. Rooms were clean, with beautiful lakeside views and the majestic Rocky Mountain peaks. Located right on Grand Lake, and in walking distance to the charming town with great restaurants and shops. Conveniently located Right outside of Rocky Mountain National Park where we saw several elk, some moose and even bald eagles. (Mornings and evenings are best for seeing the wildlfe). Fun filled days were spent kayaking on the lake, hiking in the park and enjoying the sunshine and fresh mountain air. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at "The Riv" and look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events

Address: 419 Garfield Street, PO Box 1286, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lake, Colorado lakeside hotel, cabins, condos & wedding venue at west entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. All properties within walking distance to shops, restaurants and activities. Offering outdoor year round fun from boating and hiking to snowmobiling, ice fishing, Nordic Skiing, snowshoeing and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging And Events
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events Hotel Grand Lake
Western Riviera Lakeside Hotel
Western Riviera Lakeside Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.