We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in a great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events

Save Saved
You added Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   419 Garfield Street, PO Box 1286, Grand Lake, CO 80447   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% Off 2nd/3rd Nite FREE
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Grand Lake
Manhattan, Kansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in a great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The best reason to stay at the Western Riviera is the location. Right on the beautiful lake and one block from downtown Grand Lake, which has all kinds of cool places to shop. Plenty of hiking nearby, and Rocky Mountain National Park. We had an upstairs room and it was very quiet and clean. There are chairs on the deck/walkway to sit and enjoy the view of the lake. They don't serve breakfast, but there is a bakery just around the corner where you can get breakfast sandwiches and pastries. The rooms are a little expensive, but you're paying for the location!

Room Tip: Pick an upstairs room for a better view and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    36
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
39
42
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I called and reserved a cabin for a week, then had to cancel because of work engagements. After I canceled I was able to make the trip out a few days later. I called what I thought was new condo we had rented closer to our friends, but had accidentally dialed Western Riviera. Tracy answered, and I started to talk about my reservation at the new condo. She told me it was the wrong place, and then said "YOU BLEW ME OFF!" Now there will no chance I will ever stay there &or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

What a wondeful vacation experieince! The staff was very helpful and ALWAYS friendly--even provided great recommendations for activities; as this was our first visit to Grand Lake. Rooms were clean, with beautiful lakeside views and the majestic Rocky Mountain peaks. Located right on Grand Lake, and in walking distance to the charming town with great restaurants and shops. Conveniently located Right outside of Rocky Mountain National Park where we saw several elk, some moose and even bald eagles. (Mornings and evenings are best for seeing the wildlfe). Fun filled days were spent kayaking on the lake, hiking in the park and enjoying the sunshine and fresh mountain air. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at "The Riv" and look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The worst motel I've stayed in my life time.
It was very old, dirty, and noisy also.
Everything was so old and we couldn't sleep all night long because of the noise from the upstairs every time they stepped and used water, and another noise all around the room Ike the sound of motors.

Also it was too expensive. The staff was dishonest also.
I'll never come back

Room Tip: Avoid this place for your time and money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Western Riviera Hotel is perfectly located on the shores of Grand Lake, with nothing but a sand volley ball court between you and the beautiful lake. Our upstairs room had large enough balcony that we could sit and watch the sun go down over the lake. The room was clean and adequate, but it was more of a Day's Inn setup than a nice $140 room. 'Course you don't come to Grand Lake to sit in your room; you come for the lake and the town and the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We were sceptical about renting the Treehouse but after my phone conversation with Tracy I am so glad we decided to rent. Tracy was warm, friendly and welcoming so we decided to travel and stay at the Western Riviera. The Treehouse was a beautiful upper 2 bedroom clean, comfortable, private cabin overlooking Grand Lake. Thanks Tracy for making our stay so relaxing. It was great to meet you and talk about the area.

Room Tip: If you don't mind spending the extra money, rent the treehouse. It is private, has a full kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The location we stayed in (courtyard cabins) was 1 block from main street, and 2 blocks from the lake. They were having a slow weekend and upgraded us to their nicest cabin since we had a friend coming up to stay for the weekend.

The staff were SO helpful, friendly, and the customer service was great. We were impressed by the ammenities, staff, and location.

We will be going back again and recommend Western Riviera for their array of housing options.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events

Address: 419 Garfield Street, PO Box 1286, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lake, Colorado lakeside hotel, cabins, condos & wedding venue at west entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. All properties within walking distance to shops, restaurants and activities. Offering outdoor year round fun from boating and hiking to snowmobiling, ice fishing, Nordic Skiing, snowshoeing and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events Hotel Grand Lake
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging And Events
Western Riviera Lakeside Hotel
Western Riviera Lakeside Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.