We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lemmon Lodge #24” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lemmon Lodge

Lemmon Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lemmon Lodge
Save
You added Lemmon Lodge to your Saves list
1224 Lake Ave, P.O. Box 514, Grand Lake, CO 80447   |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lemmon Lodge #24”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

It seems that a lot of the people on here were unhappy with their cabin, I'm glad we got lucky! We stayed in cabin #24 in the summer of 2012, it was very comfortable and spacious. All of the linens seemed new/hotely, there are 3 bedrooms with full beds for adults, and the third floor had a couple of bunk beds and twins, where 4 children slept comfortably and had plenty of room to play. The kitchen was really nice, with a lot of appliances I didn't expect, like large electric griddles for pancakes, and a washer & dryer in the first floor bathroom! The dishes didn't match, but there were certainly plenty of them, so I didn't mind. There was a bedroom and bathroom on the first floor, and 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms on the second, it was much easier for my mom, who doesn't do stairs very well (there were also TV/sitting areas on the first and second floors, very accessible!). The 9 of us really enjoyed the cabin, and the nearby lake, and it was so much cheaper than getting 4 hotel rooms!

Room Tip: #24 was great. if it's open, you should try it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
grandlake
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

After our terrible experience with The Rapids, the folks at Lemmon Lodge saved our whole vacation. They even apologized for the treatment we received at The Rapids and went out of their way to accomadate our every need.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Range, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

1) We stayed in #6, the northern of the two units of this duplex [number 7 has also been reviewed]. There is little privacy because this is on the corner of the entrance road and shares a porch with #7. Unit 6 is very dark inside, with poor lighting, and ancient pine paneling that has darkened with age. Any average garage sale would yield 2 lamps in better condition than those in the living room (the shade on one was seriously damaged). An old shag carpet covers the floor. The kitchen shelf holding the microwave was sagging under the weight and seemed in danger of collapsing. The beds were average in our opinion.
2) The bathroom was disgusting. The shower had a serious leak in the faucet plumbing, and water poured out of the wall onto the floor when we used the shower. We totally soaked our towels trying to mop it up. We might not have minded if this were a new problem. But this has been going on so long that there was a dark purple stain of mold was creeping up the adjacent pine paneling, and along the floor. The shower drain was very slow and it seemed ready to become clogged altogether.
3) When we reserved this unit 6 months ago we knew it was "older", but the Lodge management led us to believe that there were major changes being made. Clearly very little has been done to improve this unit. It is true that the Lodge grounds are lovely, with a nice beach and lots of shade; but at $145 per night, one could stay at a nice hotel and use the public lake facilities. The nearby hostel on the side of the cliff over the lake would be a big improvement, and it has clean bathrooms, is well lit, and has incredible views.

Room Tip: Try to reserve a newer unit, back from the main entrance. We note that when a room like ours has a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Stayed in Cabin #17. Great view of Grand Lake and main river that feeds it.
Very comfortable and clean cabin for a family of four.
Drive into the Park after dinner and see herds of Elk.
Five minute walk to the Town of Grand Lake. Fish for trout right outside the door of this cabin. Private beach for kids to play on.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

I stayed at a little resort called Lemmon Lodge. There are several different cabins to choose from but I stayed at one of the smaller cabins right by the lake. The cabin was decorated very cute and the bed was very comfortable. the best part was, that it was so close to town, that I could walk everywhere. The lake was beautiful and the cabin and amenities were great.
I would hightly recommend

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

I agree w/ the previous commenter. The "lodge" is located close to town so you can easily walk to shops & restaurants. Beware you can also hear the night life from the local bars at the top of the street. My kids LOVED the beach where they played almost all day. Its a good thing to b/c we were rented cabin # 20. The cabin was well...cozy. First problem was the sliding glass door that didn't. It took both my husband & father to open the door. The screen door acted as if it were off the track & didn't slide either. The mattresses in both bedrooms we at least 30 yrs old (seriously not an exaggeration) and had severe water damage. The linens on the bed had to have been purchased w/ the mattress b/c they were transparent and the blankets had the edging entirely worn away. None of sheets, pillow cases, blankets, silverware or dishes matched. The kitchen was essential to our trip b/c in order to afford this vacation we needed to cook our meals. It is supposed to be stocked. There were only 5 dinner plates & not enough silverware, we had to wash dishes after the kids ate so we could. When I went to have a cup of coffee all of the mugs, which were freakishly small, were chipped. Same story when I went to have a glass of water. The stove was original like the mattresses & had one setting "hot". The tub & toilet were scratched and stained from wear. The sofa in the living room sank when you went to sit down b/c there were no springs & it was visibly dirty. I am shocked and troubled by the state of this cabin. And I will look for some place else to stay next time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

The Lodge is actually a collection of cabins or houses at the edge of Grand Lake (the town) and is located on the lake itself. Being off to the side of the town, it is quiet, but still convenient if you want to go in to eat at a restaurant or buy groceries. Chairs are provided by the lake, so, weather permitting, you can enjoy sitting by the lake, reading, watching the ducks, etc. But you have to be careful what unit you rent. Some appear to be fairly new, and presumably they're in good shape. The unit we rented (no. 7) was 1/2 of a old duplex cabin that was well past its sell-by date, with plumbing, wiring, ventilation, etc., in need of renovation. The units, as we found out, are actually owned by others, and only rented/managed by the Lodge people; in the case of the duplex, each half was owned by a different family. We were told when we checked out that one family wanted to tear down the cabin, but the other one didn't, so it's still there for rental. We've stayed in many housekeeping cabins, and this one had to be most beaten up and poorly stocked, and there were times we strongly wished that there had been soundproofing between the two halves of the duplex (never mind the details). If I were to stay there again, I'd definitely insist on getting one of the newer units.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lemmon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemmon Lodge

Address: 1224 Lake Ave, P.O. Box 514, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lemmon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.