We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really want to love this place. But I don't. It has great potential, though.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Lake Lodge

Grand Lake Lodge
15500 Us Highway 34, Grand Lake, CO 80447
970-627-3967
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 31 Restaurants in Grand Lake
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: t re-opened this summer. Lodge has been reconditioned. View is spectacular and food is wonderful and resaonably priced.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I really want to love this place. But I don't. It has great potential, though.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The lodge is beautiful. The porch is perfect. The martinis were watery and warm and the dinner just ok. The brunches are better than the dinners. We have been several times and the last time was probably the end for me. We were seated by the window and the folks below us were smoking and it blew up onto us. Blah. We asked to please move- there were plenty of tables but not enough waiters so we had to remain put. The waitress had really dirty hands and nails and that bugged me but maybe it wouldn't bother you. I was really looking forward to their reopening but I honestly can't see any improvement.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    43
    25
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Va
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We didn't stay here but ate a dinner and breakfast here. The view is gorgeous. The cabins have been redone, but most don't have a view. Great open lobby with huge fireplace and glass windows overlooking the lake , swimming pool/hottub and mountains. Food was delicious and beautiful presentation

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just OK - at maybe half the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very nice location and amazing views of the lake, but the food was only average, and way too expensive. We enjoy fine dining on occasion, and don't mind paying a premium price for a meal when the quality is exceptional. While the menu choices appeared to be fine dining-type meals (which were supported by the prices), the actual taste of the food left a lot to be desired. The presentations of the meals were very good – but everything we had was just so-so. Take away the presentation, cut the prices in half, and the meals would have been “good.” Not great, just good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food, great view, a bit 'pricey'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I had dinner here one evening in late September. It was towards the end of their summer season, and they were not very busy. The Lodge is located a little ways off of Highway 34, inside the Rocky Mountain National Park boundary. It’s one of those old National Park lodges, built in the 1930s or 1940s, but has since been restored. It has that mid-20th century ambiance, and a great view of Grand Lake from the dining room. Service was friendly and prompt, and the food was good. My wife had the coconut shrimp and I had the buffalo meatloaf. Both were very good. Prices are a little on the high side. We had no appetizer, no drinks and no dessert – just the entrees – and the bill, with tax and tip – came to almost $50. It’s a nice spot for a special dinner, but probably not someplace you’d go every night, unless money is no object.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Lake, CO
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A great Sunday brunch with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Sunday brunch at the Lodge is delicious. Eat out on the porch and enjoy the food and view. You must go here when in Grand Lake! Only open in the spring and summer months.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Lake Lodge also viewed

Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 
Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 

Been to Grand Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.