We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK - at maybe half the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Lake Lodge

Grand Lake Lodge
15500 Us Highway 34, Grand Lake, CO 80447
970-627-3967
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 31 Restaurants in Grand Lake
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: t re-opened this summer. Lodge has been reconditioned. View is spectacular and food is wonderful and resaonably priced.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just OK - at maybe half the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very nice location and amazing views of the lake, but the food was only average, and way too expensive. We enjoy fine dining on occasion, and don't mind paying a premium price for a meal when the quality is exceptional. While the menu choices appeared to be fine dining-type meals (which were supported by the prices), the actual taste of the food left a lot to be desired. The presentations of the meals were very good – but everything we had was just so-so. Take away the presentation, cut the prices in half, and the meals would have been “good.” Not great, just good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    41
    25
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food, great view, a bit 'pricey'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I had dinner here one evening in late September. It was towards the end of their summer season, and they were not very busy. The Lodge is located a little ways off of Highway 34, inside the Rocky Mountain National Park boundary. It’s one of those old National Park lodges, built in the 1930s or 1940s, but has since been restored. It has that mid-20th century ambiance, and a great view of Grand Lake from the dining room. Service was friendly and prompt, and the food was good. My wife had the coconut shrimp and I had the buffalo meatloaf. Both were very good. Prices are a little on the high side. We had no appetizer, no drinks and no dessert – just the entrees – and the bill, with tax and tip – came to almost $50. It’s a nice spot for a special dinner, but probably not someplace you’d go every night, unless money is no object.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Lake, CO
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A great Sunday brunch with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Sunday brunch at the Lodge is delicious. Eat out on the porch and enjoy the food and view. You must go here when in Grand Lake! Only open in the spring and summer months.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend the Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I ate here tonight with colleagues on a business trip. The view is spectacular - its what mountain living in Colorado is all about I will come again and bring my wife and perhaps other family members.

The place is beautiful, superbly maintained, and I'm told on the register of national historic places and if it's not it should be. However, the food is just okay and the service is again nothing special but adequate and the waitstaff I will say worked hard and was attentive. Nevertheless, the food is nothing special, the portions are small, and prices are high. I had their salmon dish which was good - but I thought the sauce and presentation was again just okay.

I did love their bread - it was delicious and their butter was not frozen - I always appreciate that in any Resturant. Finally, my overall recommendation is go you should not miss this experience - just don't expect too much regarding the food. I loved the view, the atmosphere, and the ambiance. Check these guys out you can't go wrong and actually with just a bit of tweaking they can be world class.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food - Gorgeous View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Lake Lodge and enjoyed good (not great) food but really enjoyed the view from the front porch and from the restaurant. We were there at the peak of the Aspens turning golden. What a beatiful view from the Lodge. This is a very relaxing atmosphere. The Buffalo Meatloaf was the best item we had. Some of the other dishes were good but not memorable. We will go back for the setting and relaxation more than the food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Lake Lodge also viewed

Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 
Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 

Been to Grand Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.