We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we came here first” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O- A Bistro

O- A Bistro
928 Grand Avenue, Grand Lake, CO
970-627-5080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 31 Restaurants in Grand Lake
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Wish we came here first”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I came here for breakfast on our last day; we really wish we came here earlier! The decor was quaint - it reminded me of a study in someone's home: small tables, wingback chairs, books, etc. My husband had the country burrito - a breakfast burrito smothered in their sausage gravy - he told me not to bother with green chili any more! I had the Waconda Special: biscuits topped with hashbrowns, eggs, cheese and smothered in the sausage gravy (obviously we're fans of gravy). The gravy was rich, in a good way, and the biscuits were fluffy. All in all, I thought the price was equivalent to what we'd pay somewhere in Denver metro ($10 per plate), but the experience was more unique. On our next visit, we're definitely coming for dinner too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Webb City M
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Interesting.. but just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had an early dinner that day as our flight and drive made for a weird eating schedule that day. Menu was very limited. Seemed the waitress had been to happy hour, and that was the environment in a laid back kind of way. Crepes and soup/ salad were really the only choices and it was about 5pm. I wouldn't say it was bad food/ service, but it wasn't great either.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our lunch! I had the grilled cheese which was not just any grilled cheese but had 4 kinds of cheese, bacon and grilled onions. Very tasty! My husband did the special of the day Pony Sandwich - grilled Texas toast, 4 ounce hamburger, french fries, all topped with cheese sauce. The homemade vegetable soup was also excellent. Dean, our waiter, was very helpful and encouraged us to return on the weekend for breakfast. This is certainly a unique place that you would not expect to find in a town like Grand Lake. Check it out!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Oh, an average Bistro”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great service, nice folks, pretty good food, not very cheap. All in all, it was "ok". Grand Lake is not competing with NYC as a culinary hub, and in the end, it's probably as good as you'll find there. Certainly an option to get a nice meal, in a nice environment. I cannot knock much, but in reality, the food was just ok.....not horrible by any means, but far from amazing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Personal and excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We both had crepes that were excellent. The service was friendly and personal, and the wine selection extraordinary for such a place. We really enjoyed! Very good value!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O- A Bistro also viewed

Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 
Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 

Been to O- A Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O- A Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.