We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O- A Bistro

O- A Bistro
928 Grand Avenue, Grand Lake, CO
970-627-5080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 31 Restaurants in Grand Lake
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The staff was very accommodating; the regular menu was a prix fixe and as we weren't that hungry, we asked for crepes which are not normally available in the evening. It was no problem, the food was very good, and they have a respectable wine list. Considering that Grand Lake in the summer is a total tourist trap, we were surprised at the quality of this restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    14
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Taste of France in Grand Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was a surprising find tucked into the wild-west wooden boardwalked main street of Grand Lake - a French creperie. You can eat at the fixed-price side with four-course meal, or opt for the ala cart side for solo dishes of savory or sweet crepes. Cozy décor with overstuffed chairs, warm colored walls and bookcases - felt like we were going to someone's house to dine. Slightly pricey for the small portion size, but it is a crepe dish after all. A nice surprise in town.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Ate Christmas Dinner there...it was amazing! It's a 6 course meal. All were delicious! Owners were friendly. Especially loved our 'Naughty Elf' hot chocolate! :) Would definitely eat there again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankford, Delaware
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I arrived in Grand Lake just in time for breakfast after an early morning drive through Rocky Mountain National Park. We were glad to find a restaurant for breakfast that didnt have a wait!! It was no wonder! The O a Bistro is small, seats approximately 26 people. We were fortunate to be seated right away, however, it was because there was only one clean table. The other 6 tables either had guests or were not cleared from the previous diners. While we ate, a couple and a large party came in, only to turn and leave because there was no place for them due to uncleared tables. The morning we were there, only 1 waitress was working. If there had been another wait staff or a "buser", our waitress would have been outstanding. She was so busy placing orders, refilling coffee, and delivering food, she had no time to clear tables. Not to mention it took at least 15 minutes, in such a small restaurant, to get her to bring our check. The food was great, but the service honestly did not make up for the poor service. And one last note, my husband ordered a coffee to-go, which was completely forgotten.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Could have flushed my money and been happier!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

After we sat there for over 2 hours my husband said nevermind and told thewaitor we would go somewhere else and they still wanted to charge us for dinner we never got. They apologized they were busy. You couldnt pay me to eat here!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O- A Bistro also viewed

Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 
Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 

Been to O- A Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O- A Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.