We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value mom and pops hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Shore Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Shore Lodge
Save
You added North Shore Lodge to your Saves list
928 Grand County Road 64, Grand Lake, CO 80447   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Lake
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good value mom and pops hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

View was nice. Room was rustic but clean. Place was a little qwirky, odd shaped tub, temperature of shower was a little erratic, but it was what i expected from a mom & pop's hotel in the mountains. Owner was friendly with helpful information. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    11
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
24
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed at the Lake Granby Suite, and it was perfect for our needs. We stayed for 3 nights, during the 3 Lakes Ice Fishing Tournament, 2012. It was very clean and cozy, with a modern kitchen including a dishwasher. We had the choice of keeping warm with the wood burning stove, or the large fireplace. We especially enjoyed the convenience of lake access within 100 ft of our room. Parking right outside of our room. The view of the lake and the mountains was amazing. There were even kids games and puzzles in the room, my grand daughter played with them all. The hospitality was great, all of our needs were addresssed in a timely manner. I would definitely recommend to a friend, and plan to go back soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug and Edie D, General Manager at North Shore Lodge, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you for your sweet note! We're glad you had a great time! The Lake Granby Suite is a favorite for larger groups for all seasons. With 4 bedrooms and 3 baths (with the Add-on Unit) it's a great "base" for family reunions and corporate retreats, too. We love that it has those huge windows looking over the lake. What a view! The best part about staying at North Shore in th winter though, has to be snowmobiling right out onto the lake from our backyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion Station, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Understand that North Shore is one of 2 locations owned by these people. The other is Mountain Lakes Lodges. The office is at Mountain Lakes Lodges which is off the main highway and more of an old hunters cabin complex. The North Shore is newer, in a great setting and on Lake Granby.

We LOVED this place and will definitely return. The stayed in the Couples Cabin which was clean and quite comfy. Satellite TV and Wifi were nice too, but nothing was like waking up to the views on the Lake. My husband loved the porch / veranda area for sitting. We both walked the shore of the lake each morning. Rooms weren't new with all brand new everything - so if you're picky and want pristine newness, stay somewhere else - but pay the price.

For the $99 we paid, I thought the value was the best of this vacation. We'd like to return with family and friends We highly recommend this place, especially for a couples getaway.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLLMGMT, General Manager at North Shore Lodge, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you and your family! (Hint: We do lots of reunions!)

We have always loved the view of the lake ourselves- In inspiring in every season: The wildlife drinking at its shores in the Spring, the boats and mountains reflecting off it in the Summer, cotton candy clouds being drawn up from it in the Fall and rainbow crystals of snow sparkling across it in Winter- ever changing, always beautiful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

The Lodge has great views !! Wake up in the morning and walk out of your door onto the your deck over-looking the Lake. The rooms are clean and the Staff is Awesome. Doug and Eddy are friendly and welcoming. I read previous negative reviews , and all of those are prior management, before the new management of Doug and Eddy took over at North Shore.

They recently upgraded the Wireless connectivity at North Shore and Mountain Lakes Lodge and both are working flawlessly. I look forward to my future stays at North Shore and Mountain Lakes Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLLMGMT, Manager at North Shore Lodge, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Core Concept Communications did a fabulous job optimizing our (free) wireless internet service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We along with two other couples visited the Rocky mountains for the Fourth of July weekend and stayed at the North Shore Lodge for three days. We rented a family getaway cabin which has two bedrooms, kitchen, one bathroom . It has a rustic feel to it. It was cozy,clean and very comfortable for the 6 of us. The kitchen was well stocked, the bed was comfortable. There is a common balcony which runs at the back of the cabins and looks out onto the Granby Lake. The view from here is very pretty with the mountains in the backdrop with the blue water and the sail boats. The other guests staying at the lodge were very friendly and let us share their camp fire. The manager of the property was very helpful with giving directions and answering all our questions. The lodge is about 4 miles from Grand Lake and about 6 miles the Rocky Mountain National Park entrance. You must visit the Grand Lake village and the nearby Adam's falls.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver co
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I came up to the lodge with my young sons (5 & 7) and was warmly greeted by Edie, the new manager. Since it was early in the season she let me pick which unit we stayed in (so I got to peak at many of them). She was really sweet and explained all of the updates her and her husband had been making. We stayed in Number 8 at NorthShore. The boys had a blast running around the yard and walking out to the water. We grilled outside and just had a really nice weekend. It is a quaint place - rustic and cozy. I was very pleased to get a very clean room with excellent service (and a fully stocked kitchen). Thanks for making it such a nice weekend!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug and Edie D, General Manager at North Shore Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Fall is so beautiful in Grand Lake- We're glad you got to see some of the gorgeous fog that comes off the lakes and streams this time of year! Thank you for staying with us, for the lovely review and the photos. We're happy that you enjoyed the Lake Granby Suite and hope you'll stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Stayed there again this year, as we are going to go back every year. We stayed in the corner suite with the walk-off too. We have a 7 and 3 year old as well as our dog. We had another family of 4 and a single friend who also had a dog stay with us too. Awesome time there and the suite was well worth it. We also had family stay in a seperate room and we had our meals in the suite together.

The room was great for big groups and enough space where no one felt cramped. The view with the huge windows was awesome. The newly redone deck out back was great too. We got to use the fire pit outback 2 nights and loved it. Always recommended and convinced everyone to go back with us every year too. Thanks JP :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
4.9 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 8 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
5.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
8.2 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#4 of 9 in Granby
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
5.1 mi away
Spirit Lake Lodge
Spirit Lake Lodge
#10 of 18 in Grand Lake
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
4.8 mi away
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
#11 of 18 in Grand Lake
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Shore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Lodge

Address: 928 Grand County Road 64, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside lodge on the North end of Lake Granby. A 150 ft back deck overlooks the lake and a 1/2 acre backyard with a fire pit, charcoal BBQ grills and rustic log seating. Gorgeous views of the Continental Divide and Lake Granby are available from almost every room. Average price is $129 and pet friendly. Kitchenettes stocked with basic cook ware and dining ware are in each unit. Full baths and all linens included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Shore Hotel Grand Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Shore Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.