We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 626 on Rood

626 on Rood
626 Rood Ave, Grand Junction, CO 81501
+1 970-257-7663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
626 on Rood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Seventh St.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food. The pork tenderloin, the beef in a red wine sauce with truffle mash and the lobster tail. All were delicious.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    24
    12
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quality & Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

In an air of peaceful elegance, superb quality, creative meals and extensive list of excellent wines, this is definitely the best dining experience in Grand Junction. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. Overall, a wonderful experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Food and Drink in a Surprising Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is easily the best food you will find in Grand Junction, and for that matter for probably quite a distance.
Very professional, knowledgeable, courteous, and friendly staff.
Excellent choice of wines and creative selection of wine flights. If you're unsure, ask your wait staff as they are trained to be knowledgeable and provide feedback about the wines. If beer is more up your alley, they have a modest but high-quality selection of craft beers.
I had the buffalo tenderloin, which was on the pricier side of the menu but was absolutely worth it. If you get it, order it rare, trust me (even if you don't normally get meat rare). Fantastic dish.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Superb Thanksgiving Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Special occasions are always a challenge for smaller restaurants. We had Thanksgiving dinner at 626 and were a little nervous about how the evening would go. I was afraid we would not be seated at our reserved time and would feel rushed.
Much to my pleasant surprise, we were seated right on time and had fantastic service. The restauarant was busy, but they were so well prepared.
My kids are picky eaters, so when they say a meal is good, it is. They loved the traditional turkey dinner. Even though we cleaned our plates, they surprised us with indvidual "leftovers" boxes to make it feel more like a family experience.
We are definitely looking forward to a return visit to try more of their outstanding fare.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fine Dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

If you are looking for fine dining 626 on Rood is by far the best restaurant in Grand Junction. The food, wines, atmosphere and service are all excellent by any standard. The owners, Brenda and Theo have made this restaurant "their baby" and are attentive to every detail. They have trained their staff to be professional and knowledgeable about the details of the food and wine that they are serving. They have a regular menu and a "sharing menu" that has excellent choices such as lobster mac and cheese, mussels and truffle fries and much more. If you are a foodie you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 626 on Rood also viewed

 

Been to 626 on Rood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 626 on Rood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.