We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 626 on Rood

626 on Rood
626 Rood Ave, Grand Junction, CO 81501
+1 970-257-7663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
626 on Rood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Seventh St.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I choose this 626 on Rood because of TripAdvisor's rankings. It was well worth it and a must go eat. The wine selection is wonderful, the steak is out of this world. I am so grateful for TripAdvisor to help us along our travel journeys to pick out the best places to eat, sleep and enjoy while on the road. The staff was so friendly, and I would say please go and enjoy I sure did!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    28
    13
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Gj!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I love 626... Great staff and atmosphere, but the food is to die for. Truffle french fries, lobster Mac n cheese and heirloom tomato salad (in the summer) are a few of my favorites. If you haven't been, you need to see what you've been missing!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Absolutely Divine Food, Service and Environment in Grand Junction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by the hotel. We stopped by on our from the airport to the hotel. We had the Heirloom Tomato Salad; locally grown heirloom tomatoes (Blaine’s Tomatoes, Palisade), house made fresh mozzarella, fresh basil, Sicilian olive oil, Saba and capers - the capers were a really unique twist to this salad. The salad was as sweet as cotton candy! It was out of this world. We also tried the beet salad and the peach salad. Both were very tasty but having the tomatoes just before they go out of season was a real treat. We started our meal with a cheese plate. Such a unique combination of cheeses: one of the local cheeses had a rind of coffee, a goat cheese was rolled in herbs from their garden and a peppercorn cheese was drizzled with honey - all served with their ginger crackers and plum jelly. Absolutely divine! Loved every bite. That was even before we moved on to our next course: sandwiches! The turkey sandwich was real turkey breast from a turkey they roasted in-house, NOT lunch meat! The bread was a multi grain. Everything was so fresh and delicious. Another colleague tried the Smoked Duck Club Sandwich . . . House apple-wood smoked duck breast, fresh mozzarella, pepper bacon, roasted garlic mayonnaise, Napa cabbage, challah bread, sweet potato fries. Let's just say that if he could've licked his plate, he would have. We returned a few days later to try their dinner menu. Same salads and cheese but this time I tried the Buffalo Tenderloin, six ounce medallion, red wine-juniper-rosemary marinade, coffee crusted, pan-seared, Fireside bourbon (Mile High Spirits, Denver) red – eye gravy; savory potato croquette. The buffalo was prepared perfectly and it was a flavor combination like nothing I have ever had before. Awesome. All of my other colleagues tried the special they were offering that night - Ahi Tuna with Forbidden Rice. They ate every morsel. You wouldn't think we would have room for dessert but we did. Da Bomb is a dense chocolate mousse dessert infused with whiskey and topped with Guinness Foam. Insanely good. The lemon lavender crème brulee was refreshing and light. Everybody else had homemade sorbet and ice cream. The atmosphere is lovely. Very nicely appointed with a nice little patio area. Besides the food being amazing and the atmosphere being nice, the final highlight is the staff. The staff was superb! They were friendly, knowledgeable about their food products and super attentive. Let's just say that it is highly likely that we will hit this restaurant one more time before we head back out of town!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menton, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“Gastronomy Delight in Grand Junction- who knew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

If you are ever in Grand Junction, Colorado - don't miss this place. Excellent fresh seasonal food that comes from the local farmers. Chef is excellent in creative plates - recently I had a Palisades Grilled Peach Caprese - excellent. And they have a wonderful selection of French, Italian, Spanish wines.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Found 626 on Rood through online recommendations. Excellent service and experience. Sushi grade salmon cooked to perfection and tried the crispy mozzarella with coconut curry sauce...love it! Our server made excellent recommendations for wine and was enthusiastic and friendly. Heard a lady at table next to us complaining about service....must be from another planet. Staff was attentive but not overbearing or pretentious. The atmosphere is modern but casual and there is no dress code. Some were in business casual, some jeans, some nice shorts, variety and totally comfortable....will definitely be back here our next trip to grand junction. If you want snooty and pretentious, keep looking. If you want great fine dining food without the attitude but with the service, this is your joint...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 626 on Rood also viewed

 

Been to 626 on Rood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 626 on Rood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.