We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No working oven” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Grand Junction

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Grand Junction to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Grand Junction
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   765 Horizon Dr, Grand Junction, CO 81506   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas in July 20% Off
Ranked #14 of 27 hotels in Grand Junction
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“No working oven”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed here overnight while driving to LA. The room was nice and quiet, but some of the typical Courtyard amenities were lacking. First, they only have a bar menu of fried food, not the typical menu available for lunch/dinner. I learned the hotel is due for an upgrade in a few months, perhaps this is the reason for the limited menu. This,however, does not excuse the fact that they charge $9.95 for the breakfast buffet, but didn't have any bacon. I was told by the staff that this is because their oven is not working. How does a hotel, on a busy weekend, NOT have an oven? Additionally, the staff was friendly enough, but not familiar with the local restaurants-- they recommended one, and even dropped me off there in the hotel shuttle, only to find myself turned away because I did not have a reservation.(?!) I won't mention the name, but it was an Italian place downtown. Not a very relaxing trip, but the proximity to Arches National Park is a huge plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Junction, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize for not having bacon on the breakfast bar as the oven pilot assembly did fail and we were unable to cook sufficient bacon at a high quality during you stay. The oven has now been fixed and we are carrying bacon daily on our breakfast buffet.
Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott
Curtis Hansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    53
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
29
35
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Decent western slope experience, nice food for the 5 meals offered through the conference I am attending. I needed a comb this morning only to be told they were out. The staff person walked away after I indicated this was a real need for me. I walked back to ask where the next closest location was to get one and had to wait for service. I was told I could walk across the parking lot to the other Marriott, I am disappointed the staff person could have just suggested it when it was apparent I was desperate. My window leaks air and it is very windy making it sound like I am waiting out a major winter snow. It is not yet fall but I feel like it is freezing outside.

Room Tip: Even rooms for a view of the sunrise, Odd for the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Junction, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you so much for letting me know about your recent stay with us at the Courtyard Marriott. I am glad that you enjoyed the meals from our banquets and events department.
I have also addressed the issued you had with getting a comb with the front desk and I am conducting training so they will handle those saturations better in the future.
Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott
Curtis Hansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed for three days this week for some road cycling and wine tasting.
Positives; easy check in, free parking, convenient location, nice lobby. I stay in a lot of Courtyards for business travel and this one isn't quite as updated. I like "The Bistro" that some remodeled Courtyards have (this Courtyard does not have this) Also, the beds here are not as nice as others I've had in Courtyards.
Room was clean except for stains on the couch and one of the dresser drawers didn't close.
Air conditioning worked well and was quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Junction, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. I have addressed the housekeeping and maintenance issue that you brought to attention with my staff.
I am pleased to let you know as well that we are going through a public area renovation this winter and will open the during the first month of the year with the new Bistro restaurant.
I look forward to seeing you next time you are in Grand Junction.
Curtis Hansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Go to GJ, to mtn bike in Fruita and Wine taste in Palisade...staff friendly, rooms nice, clean, comfortable. plenty of parking. 4th visit. Air conditioner worked great, as can happen in Colorado, Saturday was nearly 90, then Sunday was 50,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Junction, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments from your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly, rooms clean and comfortable. I am glad you enjoyed the area as we are centrally located to all the stops that the Grand Valley had to offer.
I look forward to seeing you next time you are in Grand Junction.
Curtis Hansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have never had this kind of experience. I had a king suite so I could attend a class at this same hotel the following morning. As I laid down on the king bed I realized quickly that the bed where I was laying was wet. I discovered a large wet spot with a large yellow ring on the mattress. I called the front desk and requested another room. I was told they were sold out and there were no other rooms available. Did I want new sheets? I told them that the mattress was wet and it would just soak through the sheets, as it obviously had just done. A guy from the front desk came to verify this. When he saw the condition of the mattress he stated he would bring me a roll-away. He brought a roll-away, rolled it into the room, dropped sheets on a chair and started to leave. I asked for help with the roll-away and he told me he did not know how to do the roll-away, shrugged and walked out of the room. Luckily it was pretty easy and I readied the bed for sheets. I grabbed the sheets off the chair where they were placed and discovered they were all wet. Really! I am not kidding! I called the front desk person back and handed him the wet sheets and waited for him to bring dry ones. I put these on the bed and looked around for a blanket and discovered he never brought me one. Too tired, I just went to bed.
In the morning prior to the class I was attending, I was told I would be given a discount, about $40 off the room. After the class I spoke to the manager and stated that the gesture was not acceptable. I expected a free room. I was told that couldn't be done and was given an additional discount, another $40 off. I paid for a comfortable, clean, DRY bed that could be slept in, when I was ready to go to sleep. I did not get this. I was kept up much later than I wanted to be, did not have a comfortable bed and am very disappointed in the lack of care taken. I realize this was a very unusual problem however I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Junction, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for letting me know about your recent experience at the Courtyard Grand Junction. I apologize for the experience that you had with the staff and with the cleanliness of your room. It is our goal to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel, and we did not deliver.
I have addressed with my housekeeping and guest service staff what happened and how the situation should have been handled so this does not happen to any other guest.
I would like to make this situation right with you, if you would please contact me at your pleasure.
Sincerely,
Curtis Hansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was clean, easy, and fast. The staff was helpful. The elevator was super slow, and it was weird that the TV was along side of the bed instead of at the foot. But it was easy to find and right on our path.

Room Tip: They steer you to Enzo's which is good but $$$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Junction, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us. I am glad that you found the staff friendly and helpful.
Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to seeing you next time you are in Grand Junction.
Curtis Hansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Enjoyed a nice stay here. It's exactly what you'd expect from a Marriott - clean, quiet, good service. The hotel "restaurant" only serves breakfast, but there's a bar in the lobby and a good Italian restaurant next door (as well as a few other choices along Horizon Dr.). This hotel is on "airport row" and NOT walking distance to the quaint part of Grand Junction.

Room Tip: For a good price, try bidding through Priceline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Junction, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments about the Courtyard Marriott. I am glad that your expectations were fulfilled and that you had a pleasant stay. I look forward to seeing you next time you are in Grand Junction.
Curtis Hansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Grand Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Grand Junction

Address: 765 Horizon Dr, Grand Junction, CO 81506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand Junction
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 hotels in Grand Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Grand Junction 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Courtyard Grand Junction is situated in the heart of Colorado Wine Country. Located just off I-70, this hotel is ten minutes from downtown Grand Junction and less than a mile from the Grand Junction Regional Airport. The newly-renovated lobby is highlighted by a spacious lounge seating area, free WiFi, and the touch-screen GoBoard displaying local news, weather, and travel information. The guest rooms feature plush bedding, flat-screen TVs with premium cable, and select rooms include stunning Rocky Mountain views. Grab breakfast, dinner, or cocktails form the Bistro, and the 24-hour Market is filled with chips, drinks, and frozen food items that are perfect for late-night snacks. Maintain your active lifestyle in the 24-hour fitness center and indoor pool, and spend a relaxing afternoon with the family on the outdoor patio. Business travelers will appreciate the 24-hour business center, complimentary local shuttle service, and over 5,300 sq. Ft. Of flexible event space that is perfect for business meetings or training classes near Grand Junction. With a prime location and newly-renovated amenities, the Courtyard Grand Junction is the perfect choice for your next trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Grand Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Grand Junction Hotel Grand Junction
Marriott Grand Junction
Courtyard Grand Junction
Grand Junction Courtyard
Grand Junction Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Grand Junction, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.