We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth A Stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nepal Restaurant

Nepal Restaurant
356 Main St, Grand Junction, CO 81501-2413
970-242-2233
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 199 Restaurants in Grand Junction
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian, Tibetan, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stopped in Grand Junction on a cross country driving trip. A local recommended another restaurant, but once we saw this place we just had to try it -- and we were not disappointed. The Lamb Chau Chau was a flavorful mix of lamb, noodles and vegetables and not a bad choice if you are looking to try something different. The highlight, however, was the Chicken Makhani. I have eaten this dish many times, including in restaurants in India and Kathmandu, and have been dismayed too often finding the chicken dry and the sauce bland. Simply, a way to use up left over Tandoori Chicken. This was the best Chicken Makhani I have ever eaten. The sauce was a perfectly spiced, velvety cream covering juicy chunks of white meat. Partnered with a freshly baked Garlic Naan, it was a delicious treat. The food did take a bit of time to arrive at the table, but it was clear after the food arrived that none of that time was wasted. It was all well worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    49
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Nepalese food by Nepalese people.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The food is very tasty, the atmosphere is refreshingly different & Nepalese. The personnel conduct themselves like Laman Bhuddists. The buffet price is very reasonable. The only complaint I have is that if I eat the fresh fruit and fresh vegetables, I get digestive problems.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Love Nepalese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We love Nepalese food & love eating at Nepal Restaurant. Every time we go to Grand Junction, we have lunch at Nepal - it is delicious, fast, & reasonably priced. Get there early for the best choice of tables.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“They provide stale food....beware!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We wanted to try Nepali food in our recent Colorado trip. Our first experience was at Glenwood Canyon and this was our second experience. We were surprised to see the crowd inside as all the tables were occupied. We ordered Paneer Pakoda and it took 45 minutes to arrive at the table. When asked the staff, the initial reaction was "I don't know, I need to check". Why in the world do people say "No" first?? When it finally arrived after 45 minutes, the very first bite of it tasted different. We had dissect it fully to see the stale part of the paneer. This was unacceptable, so spoke to the same staff who was being friendly all the while. When we complained about the staleness of paneer he called his owner and the owner being apologetic said he would go and check with the chef and was not sorry for serving us the stale pieces. The plate was taken away and for about 15 minutes no one cared to tell us what was happening. It took another 20 minutes for our main course to arrive. The food was okay but the attitude and service was horrible. I would never go there and will not recommend to anyone. Horrible experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty food and lots of it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a very nice dinner here, sitting outside on a cool summer evening. The food was very good, spiced just right, and a very good value for the money. We couldn't come close to eating it all, so be sure to plan for leftovers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nepal Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nepal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nepal Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.