We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Great Price, Zero Atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden City Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden City Restaurant
2430 North Ave, Grand Junction, CO 81501-6435
970-242-3516
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Ivins, Utah
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Price, Zero Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Buffet, by the scoop style Chinese food. The food is prepared in small batches so seems always fresh. Very good quality and taste for a by the scoop place, and at $10 for two people, a great bargain for a meal. Big scoops of food too!

Down side, it's an old dairy queen or some such and has zero atmosphere. Dirty tables greeted us, dirty carpet, (not scary filthy, just obviously not well cleaned on any regular basis). Food areas were clean though. Everything, to go or eat in, is served up in those square styrofoam to-go containers. Plastic ware and skinny chopsticks with a couple of squirt bottles of soy sauce, though I suspect you could ask for packets at the register.

The location and food quality/price made it work for us. Next time I'd definitely take the food to go though. The motel room had much better ambience and comfort.

Had to laugh at the drive thru window/booth stuffed with storage boxes, etc. The place looks horrible from the outside, but it's good food and a great price for volume of food. Just don't expect to enjoy the surroundings while you eat.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“horrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

walked in and was shocked by a cashier who looked liked bride of Frankenstein with all her makeup. then she started yelling about a tray cause we took two since there was 10 of us. then as we started to walk away she yelled at my 6yr grandson about leaving trays alone then told me "i guess have a nice meal" other staff heard and verified to the manager. manager spoke to us and said she would talk to her. really spend 100 to be told you are going to speak to her! not worth all the trouble.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gj
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is a fast way to get excellent nice and hot chinese food. Service is great. You'll be in and out the door in 2 minutes. Best $1/scoop chinese take-out in town. I just wish it was open later than 9pm especially on the weekends.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Inexpensive take out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This is a great place for fresh affordable Chinese take out. The restaurant is not fancy or new, but the food is fresh and fast. The selection is limited, but there are enough choices to have a nice meal. I really like the sesame chicken and the vegtable foo young.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

My friends told me about this place many times but just never got a chance to visit it till few months ago. I was surprised. The food was tasty and very reasonable. Even though the place looks a little old, but the food is amazing. Don't let the outside fool you. I'm a regular customer now.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden City Restaurant also viewed

Grand Junction, CO
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden City Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.