We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tapatio

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Tapatio
1145 North Ave, Grand Junction, CO 81501-3142
970-245-6479
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 225 Restaurants in Grand Junction
Restaurant details
1 review
“Great choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Read the reviews here and decided to try it, we were very pleased. The food was excellent, margs were more like what we have had in Mexico. The green chile is like no other that we have ever had, excellent. Wait staff was very pleasant and helpful with the menu choices. The outward appearance of the building does not reflect the food or sttaff.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“This is the most authentic Mexican restaurant in Colorado!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We love Mexican food and since moving to Colorado have not been able to find the "real deal"....this is it! My husband had the chimichangas which were the best he has had and I had a chalupa which was delicious. The menu is extensive with selections you rarely see. Service good and ambiance great. Next time I'll try the Margaritas.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Authentic Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

So much food but it was absolutely delicious! We are very particular about our Mexican food and this was superb!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Too much lime for me!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I'm allergic to lime, and there were limes in EVERYTHING here. Others rave about this place, but I can't eat here. :(

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Mexican food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I had to drag my husband into this place as he thought it looked "a bit dodgy" from the oudside, although once he was presented with his meal he was happy!

The service was friendly, food was authenic and plentiful, and two of the strong house margs made the pain of a hard day of mountain biking go away.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tapatio also viewed

 

Been to El Tapatio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tapatio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.