We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone down hill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Cafe

Main Street Cafe
504 Main St, Grand Junction, CO 81501-2608
+1 970-242-7225
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 224 Restaurants in Grand Junction
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner, Hamburgers, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Located in beautiful downtown Grand Junction's. A 50's Diner on Main Street serving the best burgers in town, Boar's Head deli products, Sterling Silver Choice ground chuck and hand cut sirloin steak. Vegetarian selections are available for breakfast and lunch. We serve breakfast all day. Open 7 days a week at 7am
Grand Junction, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gone down hill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Breakfast portion is smaller than it was a few weeks ago. My coffee cup was empty most of the time. The waitress were standing at the front door talking instead of taking care of the customers. When a order was ready the cook would call out loudly over a speaker, it was annoying and we did not enjoy the breakfast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coevan, General Manager at Main Street Cafe, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
I have spoken with my kitchen staff and gone over portion sizes with them so we can improve on being more consistent. The speaker is part of the 50's ambiance and it let the servers know when food is ready to be taken out. I have adjusted the volume and spoken with cooks not to speak directly into microphone. I have also spoken with the hostesses and servers about being aware of their surroundings and working as a team.
When you come back to our restaurant, I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you personally, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank You, General Manager, Lisa Searle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    37
    21
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jpmomtravels
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun place for a family to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The décor inside was fun to look at while eating lunch there. It was a bit dusty but it is obvious a lot of love went into the décor. The food was decent but not amazing. The waitresses were very friendly and made our group of 11 with many little kids, feel at home. We were promptly seated and the food was served in a reasonable time.

Outside of the restaurant is a small water/splash pad for kids. It was great for a hot summer's day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Throw back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The food was so good. We loved the atmosphere. They even called the wait staff by 50s name. The French fry's were so yummy ..will go back soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina G, Owner at Main Street Cafe, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. For 21 years we have strived to give great food and exceptional service. We always appreciate someone letting us know how we are doing. Please introduce yourself the next time you come in. Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orcutt, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fun place, friendly service, good food; eat inside or out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This place has a fun atmosphere with oldies music, friendly knowledgeable service & a good food selection at reasonable prices. We enjoyed eating outside, indoor decor is rock n roll cool! Great for families with kids or grandkids.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Funky place, good menu, good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Main Street in Grand Junction is very cute and fun. To eat lunch or dinner there makes the visit even better. As you stroll down Main Street, you can admire the metal sculptures that are sprinkled liberally up and down the street. There is a splash area for children that is open during the summer. It is such fun to watch the little ones wiggle in and out of the spouts! This eatery has a 50's appearance to it, with pictures of Marilyn Monroe, Three Stooges, etc., springing up all over the restaurant. The food was good old fashioned fare and the three of us each enjoyed what we ordered. The service was fast and served with a smile, the prices were reasonable. The parking can be challenging if you have need for a handicapped parking spot, however. A couple of doors down from the café is a wonderful candy shop that has some items from the 50's as well. Enjoy the ambiance of this area of Grand Junction. It is truly an eye feast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coevan, Owner at Main Street Cafe, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our diner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Main Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.