We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, ok food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of il Bistro Italiano

il Bistro Italiano
400 Main Street, Grand Junction, CO 81501
9702438622
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 4th Street
Transit: Grand Valley Transit has a bus stop a few yards from the entrance of the restaurant on Main Street
Description: il Bistro Italiano opened in August 1998. Our focus is on bringing a combination of traditional Italian dishes together with some innovative ones created within the boundaries of modern Italian cuisine. The pastas, breads, sauces, and desserts are all made at the restaurant from fresh ingredients. Our wine list features a large selection of wines from Italy and Colorado, and whenever possible, we use local ingredients in our kitchen. There is always something going on at the Bistro, so look at the Events Section to learn of special wine nights, cooking classes or other featured events.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great service, ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

I went here after a friend recommended it. I went for lunch and asked the waiter what his favorite pasta dish was. He recommeded the avocado and shrimp pasta dish and said it was rich but not heavy because the avocado provided some of the creaminess. The pasta itself was good, but the shrimp and prosciutto tasted old. The bread that was served before I received my dish was delicious and fresh. I will probably try it again when I'm in town some day because of all the great reviews, but I probably will get a vegetarian dish.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    74
    25
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
springfield, mo
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Some of the best food in GJ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Il Bistro is my new favorite restaurant in GJ. I have been somewhat disappointed with the quality here in town until eating at il Bistro. The atmosphere was nice, staff was extremely friendly, attentive, and helpful, and the food was absolutely great. I appreciate that they offer a smaller portion of some entrees even for dinner. I got a smaller chicken entree and it was just the right amount of food. They also have a great wine list. Definitely recommend trying it if you like Italian food!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Italilan, great local people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Il Bistro Italiano, at 4th and Main in Grand Junction, is locally owned, a non franchise operation, with gracious attention, al fresco seating in season, and without a doubt, the best spinach lasagna available.... Love to dine there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delray beach fl
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

You won't be disappointed at this Italian restaurant. Long time locals suggested we dine here on a Thursday night. The restaurant was busy inside and outside (outdoor dining available). Our waiter was knowledgeable about the menu and made several recommendations one of which was the Burrata Salad- Sliced tomatoes on the bottom with arugula and bets topped with creamy burrata cheese, dressed with sicilian olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Three of us shared this salad and there was still some left over! The Salmone Gerusalemme was mouth watering. Fresh wild salmon fillet baked with a topping of artichoke hearts, olives, ricotta cheese and parmesan cheese, served with butternut squash mash and seasonal vegetables. (Yummy butternut squash mash). The artichoke/olive/cheese topping on the salmon is a thin layer spread on the top of the salmon and ever so tasty. The salmon was thick and very fresh. One friend had: Cotoletta Alla Bolognese- Natural Colorado Chicken Break breaded with parmesan and herbs, fried then finished with proscuitto di parma and fontina cheese. Served with roasted garlic mashed potatoes, Arugula and tomatoes with balsamic dressing. The other friend had the pork loin special. All dinners were huge portions, tasty and beautifully displayed on the plate. This is a do-over restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, CO
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Went back to Il Bistro after a less than stellar experience in my previous visit (which I attribute to the fact that the owners were not there). The place was packed on a Friday evening but we were seated right away for our 7:30 reservation. The service was prompt and flawless. I had the Tagliolini di Mare and my wife had the eggplan parmesan and caprese salad. We also shared a nice bottle of wine. It was all wonderful and the bill came to $69. My faith in Il Bistro is fully resotred.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il Bistro Italiano also viewed

Grand Junction, CO
 

Been to il Bistro Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage il Bistro Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.