We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extensive Menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo City

Bamboo City
2472 F Road, Unit 2, Grand Junction, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 224 Restaurants in Grand Junction
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: 970-242-0283
Restaurant details
Description: 970-242-0283
Kona, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Extensive Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Ordered a very delicious family style Chinese selection. There is also a Mongolian Grill. Hard to choose. After ordering, found there is a Thai menu too! Reasonable prices, good service. If I lived in Junction, I'd be back often.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place has great Chinese food. It is fresh and cooked to order. The beef with broccoli was the best I have had in Grand Junction. The fried rice and sweet and sour shrimp are great too. I will be returning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian food, moderately priced, no waiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Small family owned and operated hidden away Asian Restaurant. The address is 2472 Patterson, which is sometimes called F road, but this is off the road in a unit located between a mattress store and a massage parlor. We go there a lot in the evening and it is never crowded. I asked them how they stay in business, and was told the main meal is lunch when they are very busy from the businesses around them, but the businesses are closed in the evening so they do mainly take out and have a small crowd at dinner.
I like the Thai menu, my wife likes the Chinese menu. Our favorite waitperson, Lisa, the owner's daughter, and her sister in law will take good care of you. The food comes out pretty quickly, is individually prepared, and is always just out of the wok and steaming hot.
My favorite is the Thai seafoood soup, which I order mild, and it is plenty spicy. I can only imagine what the moderately spicy might be. The green curry shrimp and the pad thai are also very good. My wife likes the moo shiu pork, and the cashew chicken and beef and broccoli plate. Generally around $20-$25 for the two of us, although some nights we just have an appetizer and split the moo shui and it is less than $20. . The Mongolian grill is $7.95 for one trip, $10.95 for unlimited, but I seldom see anyone order it at night.
Not easy to find, but worth looking for, for good value in a relaxed friendly uncrowded place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Favorite oriental restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

They have the best sweet and sour chicken in town. I order togo from there usually and never have to wait long! Small and a little hard to find but its a nice place to eat

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best chinese food in GJ, IMHO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We just LOVE the Bamboo Garden. Locally owned and operated. Always great food. Chinese, Mongolian, and Thai...all done very well!
The spring rolls are made daily and super yummy. The head cook is the owner's father, and he is a wonderful chef! Always fresh, always fabulous!
I can't say enough good things about this place, so I will end with...go get some Chinese food at the Bamboo!!!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo City also viewed

 
Grand Junction, CO
 

Been to Bamboo City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.