We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suitable for a off-the-highway stopover.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Grand Junction

Motel 6 Grand Junction
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Grand Junction to your Saves list
Motel 6 Grand Junction
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   776 Horizon Dr, I-70 at Exit #31, Grand Junction, CO 81506   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Suitable for a off-the-highway stopover.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This hotel is at the edge of Grand Junction and next to the airport. It has 2-stories, rooms are not enclosed, and a pool. There are vending machines on the 1st floor, but there are chain restaurants nearby. Worthwhile restaurants and activities are about 10 minutes drive into downtown Grand Junction.

The upsides:
The hotel cheerfully accepted my non-smoking-plus-dogs reservation from my cellphone when we were in the car about 45 minutes away. The rates were reasonable and the room had nice hardwood floors. The room was very clean, beds were firm and comfortable, lots of hot water, and good water pressure. The downtown of Grand Junction itself ("Colorado's Wine Country") was about 10 minute drive away and very cute--worth the drive into the city. Free coffee all the time in the office. We didn't use the pool but it looked like people were enjoying themselves there.

The downsides:
The hotel is located right next to an airport, albeit a regional, smaller airport. We were at the hotel for only 14 hours and we did not hear much aviation noise, but I don't know if that would change if the stay was longer or during daytime hours. The second floor is not wheelchair accessible, as far as we could tell.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel as a stopover location on a highway trip. Due to its distance from the town center, activities, and proximity to the airport, I'd hesitate to recommend it for anything longer than an evening.

Room Tip: If noise is an issue, ask for a room not facing the pool. 1st floor rooms had best car-to-room acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    26
    7
    12
See reviews for
15
17
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We passed up staying at the Motel 6 in Green River to have a shorter drive to Denver.
We changed our reservation to the Motel 6 in Grand Junction, CO. The location is listed as refurbished by Motel 6. When we got there the desk clerk was as friendly as a robot could be. We went to our room which was clean and typical of a Motel 6, SPARSE. The sheets and towels were clean but have seen better days. The air worked really well (too well) at cooling the room because it never went off until we turned the unit off. The mattress could have used some padding. We felt every spring all night long, at least until 3:30 AM when we couldn't take any more and left. The kicker to our stay was that when I went back to the office to ask for some shampoo I was told, "Sorry but we don't have any. But there is some in the vending machine." I went to the vending machine and spent $1.30 for a packet of shampoo the size of a ketchup packet.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

I stayed at this Motel 6 as a stopover on my way to Denver last summer.

Positives: The room was clean and had newer flooring and a newer shower. I only paid $44.99/night.

Negatives: There were several families that appeared to be living at this motel long-term. Several of them leave their doors open and sit outside on the sidewalks. Most of them stare as you walk by them which might be intimidating for some people. As a guy it didn't really bother me, but I don't know if I would want my sister or mom staying here alone.

Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Don't stay at this hotel! The housekeepers claimed they couldn't find a ring I left, so in other words they stole it. The service was terrible. After I called about the ring, the front desk was unhelpful and rude. I had to call them 4 times, because they wouldn't return my phone calls. Also, the room wasn't ready at check in time and the mattresses were hard as a board.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

I just needed a bed and a shower for the night. Since it was mostly convenience, I thought I would try the Motel to save a few bucks. First, it doesn't help much to have a non-smoking room when the people on each side of you step out on the balcony by your window having a cigarette and the smoke comes into your room. I like to sleep in a cool room and even though I adjusted the thermostat to the coolest setting, the room was still way too warm and still blowing out heat. So, I had to open a window, with the screen not secured. This didn't make me too comfortable, given the clientele I had chance to observe around me. But, I did manage to get a couple of winks and left as early as possible. The sheets were threadbare, the mattress obviously the cheapest kind, and the towels were tiny. The room seemed to be clean, but not a comfortable stay, by any means. I definitely would rather pay 10 or 20 bucks more to get a decent room. They can leave the light on, but I won't be stopping, again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkerque, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

The best price in town but not cheap... $62....
Always the solution Motel 6 when no other cheaper place and this one was a surprise... New génération but not the last as it's now a false wooden floor and some décorations and colours are made of better taste.
A outside swimming pool welcome so no free wifi ( $3 ) and no breakfast....

It's no more the sanitized place as the old Motel 6 we knew.... In progress in final .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

We stayed a night before a rafting trip the next day. It seemed like a fine hotel for the price. The rooms are the renovated ones with the "wood" floors, so it's much easier to see if they are clean or not. Didn't notice any cleaning issues. Bottle opener on the bathroom sink was convenient. Room served its purpose. Can hear some noise from the airport but the planes didn't seem to fly very late into the evening.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Grand Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Grand Junction

Address: 776 Horizon Dr, I-70 at Exit #31, Grand Junction, CO 81506
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand Junction
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Grand Junction 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Grand Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Grand Junction Hotel Grand Junction
Motel Six Grand Junction
Grand Junction Motel Six
Grand Junction Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Grand Junction, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.