We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best BBQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
2440 Hwy 6 And 50, Grand Junction, CO
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 221 restaurants in Grand Junction
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Reno
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“The Best BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We love Famous Dave's and when we saw one in GJ we had to have ribs. We came in on Amtrak, so the afternoon we were leaving, we picked up a rack., coleslaw and beans and took it to go. At 5:00 we laid our feast in the Amtrak lounge car. Also brought along a 'Blackbox Wine" to accent the dinner.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    17
    11
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Go Here. Don't Go There!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was my wife's and my first visit to a Famous Dave's" and it was nothing less than spectacular. Even though it was a busy Friday night, we were seated almost immediately and the service was prompt. My wife had the all-you-can-eat catfish and it was light, fresh, and delicious. I had some brisket, and it was some of the best I've ever had, and I compete in BBQ contests myself! The sides (mac&cheese, greens, and green beans) were all excellent too. No canned or prepared products. The cornbread muffins were also beyond delicious. The cold, cold draft beer was an added bonus.

Please, try this place. You won't be sorry you did!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENNEWICK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Love that BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I love BBQ and honestly, no one does it as good as Famous Dave's. The food is awesome, but the atmosphere is a little loud if you are trying to have a conversation with friends or family. Will I go again? As soon as I get a chance! The food is so good, I really don't want to talk to anyone - just chow!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The waitress we had was very nice. She went over all the sauces that were available to put on your barbecue. We ordered the Georgia Pulled Pork Dinner. While we waited for out food, the manager came over to welcome us to Famous Dave's. The meal was very good. We have been to many Famous Dave's and have always been pleased.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“My Third Famous Daves Road Trip Experience - Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My spouse and I stopped here for dinner. We were pleasantly greeted and seated immediately upon arrival. Our waiter was also pleasant, but spread a little thin. The baby back ribs were somewhat tough and not very tasty. My last Famous Daves experience in Brentwood, TN involved pulled pork which was fantastic. Since we were very hungry upon arrival, we ask the waiter if we could have our cornbread while waiting on our order. He asked if we still wanted cornbread when the order was brought out, and we said sure. We didn't know until the check arrived that we were going to be charge an extra $2.00 for the cornbread. We have never been charged for bread before our meal at any restaurant - ever. We were disappointed in this sales tactic. I made the $2.00 adjustment at tip time - something I wouldn't have done if the waiter had made the charge clear up front. I know we won't return to this Famous Daves, but I will probably give other locations a try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

Grand Junction, CO
Grand Junction, CO
 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.